The Sapphire (

The Sapphire ("Homeward" Collection)

by Barb Hendee

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Sapphire ("Homeward" Collection) by Barb Hendee, J. C. Hendee

After fleeing from the small port town of Miiska -- and the threat of a vampire hunter’s blade -- Ratboy finds himself alone in the king’s city of Bela, having left his two companions, Rashed and Teesha behind. Lost and lonely at first, he soon realizes that he has a chance to reinvent himself, to take on a new name and a new identity. Then... he sees a young woman with bright blue eyes, and he falls in love for the first time.

Unfortunately, he can’t quite see that she’s a gold-digging prostitute. But love is blind. He’s determined to make her his own, make her immortal, give her anything she wants, and make her happy. However, keeping her happy soon proves a daunting task, one that will require desperate measures and all his cunning.

About "Tales from the world of the Noble Dead Saga"...

No knowledge of the Noble Dead Saga or related works is necessary to read and enjoy these stories. They are written for fantasy enthusiasts in general and not just our established readership. Readers new to this world can step into it through any of these short works.

Tales are organized into “collections” where all stories therein share a theme and/or premise. When one or more link together, subsequent stories will mention “sequel to…” on their covers to guide you. Even so, each is self-contained enough to be your first adventure into this world.

—Barb & J.C. Hendee

Product Details

BN ID: 2940014682541
Publisher: Barb and J.C. Hendee /
Publication date: 07/02/2012
Series: Tales from the world of the Noble Dead Saga
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 184 KB

About the Author

Barb & J.C. live south of Portland, Oregon, and about a hour from the coast. Barb's fiction has appeared in numerous genre magazines and anthologies. JC's poetry, non-fiction, and short fiction have also appeared in many genre publications. Although they have worked together as a writing team from their earliest days, the series/phases and books of the Noble Dead saga are their first novel-length collaborations starting in 2003. Both are ex-academics with masters in English, have worked academia as well as the private sector, and have taught multiple workshops, classes, and seminars related to fiction writing inside and outside of academia.

Barb is also the author of the "Vampire Memories" series available at all major book vendors.

Series/Phase 1: Dhampir, Thief of Lives, Sister of the Dead, Traitor to the Blood, Rebel Fay, Child of a Dead God
Series/Phase 2: In Shade and Shadow, Through Stone and Sea, Of Truth and Beasts
Series/Phase 3: Between Their Worlds, The Dog in the Dark, and more to come

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sapphire ("Homeward" Collection) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These "Tales" stories continue to be good. They have the same feel and writing style as the main novels, which makes them feel even more coherent to the world of the noble dead saga. This particular volume is basically a continuation of the one before it, "The Feral Path." It follows Ratboy to Bela and picks up his story there. It's great to get to more story about more minor characters from the main novels. These are definitely turning out to be way better than I expected them to be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago