The Scientists

The Scientists

by Scientists

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$20.89 $21.99 Save 5% Current price is $20.89, Original price is $21.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, July 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Scientists

The first self-titled album by Perth's Scientists bears almost no resemblance to the Scientists who released so many wonderfully dirgy records in the '80s. Rather, this LP serves as a predecessor for another Australian rock institution, the Hoodoo Gurus. As on all Scientists' releases, this one features Kim Salmon on vocals and guitar, but here he is joined by future Gurus rhythm section James Baker (Victims) and Ian Sharples, on the drums and bass, respectively. The music chugs along with all the right influences, including Big Star, the Ramones, Johnny Thunders, and the Troggs. Not quite punk, but in Perth circa 1980, it must've sounded pretty radical. With the simple themes of teen romance ("Walk the Plank"), teen alienation ("Larry," "Teenage Dreamer"), and girls ("Girl"), this record comes out of nowhere to bring you right back to that place when these subjects fixated you. The album was recorded as the band was breaking up and may be a bit overproduced (read: loud drums, separation of instruments), but the music stands on its own as a joyful ode to simpler times, before Salmon's heart was in a place called "Swampland," which is, of course, nine parts water and one part sand. Salmon later re-formed the Scientists, taking the band in a radically different and darker direction. While not indicative of the Scientists' sound (generally more Birthday Party-like) this LP stands as their best, as well as one of the finest moments in early-'80s Australian rock.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2015
Label: Numero
UPC: 0825764603317
catalogNumber: 46033
Rank: 79101


  1. Shadows of the Night
  2. Girl
  3. I'm Looking For You
  4. She Says She Loves Me
  5. Sorry Sorry Sorry
  6. That Girl
  7. High Noon
  8. Teenage Dreamer
  9. Another Sunday
  10. Walk the Plank
  11. Larry
  12. Making a Scene
  13. It'll Never Happen Again

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews