The Second Chance Shoe Shop: A heart-warming novel of love, loss and new shoes

The Second Chance Shoe Shop: A heart-warming novel of love, loss and new shoes

by Marcie Steele

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Second Chance Shoe Shop: A heart-warming novel of love, loss and new shoes by Marcie Steele

The Second Chance Shoe Shop is that rarest of treats, a story filled with warm and wonderful characters who feel like your best friends from the first page.' Tilly Tennant

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she'll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewart's whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network - the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

What readers are saying about The Second Chance Shoe Shop:

'Another winner from Marcie Steele! The Second Chance Shoe Shop is chock full of relatable characters, romance, fashion and fun. A wonderful read that will draw you in from beginning to end.' Talli Roland

'Yet again Marcie Steele has written a wonderful story with characters who grab you by the heart and touch your soul.' By The Letter Reviews

'I wanted to savour every page … My favourite Marcie Steele book so far.' Steph Loz Book Review


'This was a lovely, well-told story and easily (in my opinion) Marcie's best one yet' Book Lover Worm

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786810038
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication date: 04/08/2016
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 359,288
File size: 550 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Second Chance Shoe Shop: A heart-warming novel of love, loss and new shoes 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
AliTheDragonSlayer More than 1 year ago
I have had this book on my TBR since it first came out so after all the original hype on Twitter I was looking forward to reading it. While I knew the general concept from the blurb it still took me quite a while to get into it and begin to connect with the characters. Riley, Sadie and Dan are the main contenders but there are plenty of supporting people who play a large part in the story. Riley, single girl, has had her heart broken, runs the declining shoe shop in town. She grew on me once she began to stand her ground and not put up with so much cr*p thrown at her from all angles. She finally decided what she was worth after several run-in's with exes, managers, men in general! Sadie, young widow with a six year old daughter, part of the 'friendship' group .. as much as I should have felt sorry for her situation I just could not warm to her at all. I felt a large majority of the book was 'woe is me' repeatedly. She was lucky to have such a wide circle of support but didn't seem to appreciate it. Dan, single young man, also recovering from a broken heart but provided some entertainment with his online dating sagas. He seems genuinely sweet, cares deeply for Riley and Sadie and deserves to be happy. The majority of the story revolves around the failing shoe shop and what can be done to save it, even if the three friends can come up with a fabulous plan will it be enough to ward off bitchy Suzanne who threatens to close it!? A lot of social media is involved along with #ShoeLove I enjoyed all the various means of raising the profiles but anyone who is not familiar with online jargon may struggle. By far my favourite characters were Ethan and Jimmy they made the book for me. An entertaining book, perfect for a holiday read or alternatively curled up in front of a roaring fire. Easy to read & a fascinating view of retail .. showing what perseverance and friendship can achieve. Many thanks to the Author, Netgalley and Bookouture for my copy.
TheBunny1 More than 1 year ago
Charming. It's the 1st word that comes to mind. This book was heartwarming, it was feel good. It was charming. Their lives are not perfect, with cheating/married boyfriends, deaths, slight family drama, somewhat smarmy shoe salesmen, owners who think they can compete with the major retailers (while avoiding stocking the latest trends) and all of this you learn in the first few chapters. But, through it all, there is an underlying charm. A joy in hanging out with Riley as she moves on with her life and finds a new direction and purpose. And, with Sadie as she learns to move forward and leave what she lost in the past while holding on to the memories. This is a slow story that unfolds with the characters, yes things happen, but the glue that holds the characters together (and the story) are the people in the story. You get to know them, and care about them, and you really don't want it to end. The writing is wonderful and fluid, and it adds to the story in notable ways, as it is a pleasure to read as well. I am not going to get too specific on the plot, etc...as for a story like this, the what happens and how they react is the most important part...and ruining the what ruins the fun. ***ARC Provided by the Publisher and NetGalley***