The Secret of the Irish Castle

The Secret of the Irish Castle

by Santa Montefiore

Paperback

$13.19 $15.99 Save 18% Current price is $13.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Secret of the Irish Castle by Santa Montefiore

International bestselling author Santa Montefiore continues the story of the Deverill family in the third book in her beautiful and moving Deverill Chronicles trilogy—perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.

“Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart.” —Jojo Moyes,  #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You

1939: Peace has flourished since the Great War ended, but much has changed for the Deverill family as now a new generation is waiting in the wings to make their mark.

When Martha Wallace leaves her home in America to search for her birth mother in Dublin, she never imagines that she will completely lose her heart to the impossibly charming JP Deverill. But more surprises are in store for her after she discovers that her mother comes from the same place as JP, sealing her fate.

Bridie Doyle, now Countess di Marcantonio and mistress of Castle Deverill, is determined to make the castle she used to work in her home. But just as she begins to feel things are finally going her way, her flamboyant husband Cesare has other ideas. As his eye strays away from his wife, those close to the couple wonder if he really is who he says he is.

Kitty Deverill has come to accept her life with her husband Robert, and their two children. But then Jack O'Leary, the love of her life, returns to Ballinakelly. And this time his heart belongs elsewhere.

As long-held secrets come to light, the Deverills will have to heal old wounds and come to terms with the past if they hope to ensure their legacy for the future.

 

 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062456908
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/14/2018
Series: Deverill Chronicles Series , #3
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 51,941
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Santa Montefiore was born in England. She went to Sherborne School for Girls in Dorset and studied Spanish and Italian at Exeter University. She has written sixteen bestselling novels, which have been translated into thirty different languages and have sold more than two million copies worldwide.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Secret of the Irish Castle 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
gaele 6 days ago
The year is 1939 and Bridie and her husband, Count di Marcantonio and her son Leopoldo are the new owners of Castle Deverill- but apparently the town can't forget that Bridie was once Bridie Doyle, the daughter of the cook. Unremarkable until she fled to America to make her fortune, where she now has returned to ‘home territory’ having ‘made it. Or has she? Her husband is a cad and unfaithful, her son is a spolt brat, the castle still carries a curse, and Bridie’s son, given up to her former-friend Kitty to raise – and contact between the two is nonexistent. Add to those trials a returned from America lost love with wife and children in tow, the former castle residents, Deverills all, are haunting their former digs and trying to influence choices and decisions, and the telenovela-feel to this story with plenty of twists, mawkish and often overly complex love triangles, cheating and uncovered secrets – almost the only thing missing was a dead character come to life. Oh wait – that sort of happens with the characters from earlier stories coming back and haunting the current residents and characters. I think that perhaps I would have been more intrigued and impressed with this story had I done two things: read the earlier books in the series, and been able to suspend disbelief throughout the multiple reveals that were meant to be ‘shocking’ but honestly just felt coincidental and required too much work on this reader’s part to find them even remotely intriguing. I wanted more of the tension from war on the horizon – it is 1939 and while people are ‘hopeful’ that the last war would be the LAST war, Ireland was not so removed as to not have been feeling the rumblings on the horizon, and the cross-Atlantic travels of characters meant to be important to the story would have also been aware of, if not quite yet concerned with the changes and threats emanating from Germany. It also went to telenovela for me with the meant to be shocking reveals – that at this point weren’t anymore. I know that others will love this book and trilogy, and that mine is a voice contrary to that acclaim – I would suggest that you read these books in order and follow the intrigues and changes from the start. I received a paperback copy of the title from the publisher for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous 14 days ago
I am going to miss all the characters in this novel. Absolutely enjoyed reading with all the twists and turns. Really enjoyed all three books. Hope there is more to this saga.
Katie__B 3 months ago
This was a good old fashioned soap opera taking place mostly in Ireland around the 1930s and 40s. This is the third book in the Deverill Chronicles and while it can be read as a standalone novel, I highly recommend reading the other books first. This was my first introduction to the series and there were just so many characters with different backstories that it could be overwhelming at times. Like I said before, there is definitely a soap opera quality to the book as there is a lot of sleeping around, secrets, illegitimate children, love, betrayal, murder, etc. which make it an entertaining read. And when you add in an Irish castle as a setting, well how could I not love that? The story does bounce around quite a bit from character to character but for me the heart of the book was the story lines of JP and Martha. Definitely recommend especially if you are a fan of fiction from this time period and setting. I won a free copy of this book in a giveaway but was under no obligation to post a review. All views expressed are my honest opinion.
mamalovestoread22 3 months ago
Martha Wallace leaves everything she knows behind in America to embark on a journey to Ireland to find the mother that she has never known, and she winds up discovering far more than she ever anticipated! Her new journey brings her new friendships, love, and a bit of drama and danger too! You will also get glimpses into the complicated lives of Kitty Deverill the daughter of the Deverills of Deverill Castle, and Bridie Doyle, Kitty’s English cousin. These three women easily form a bond, without letting their social classes interfere, and what comes of this friendship is a true testament to the humor spirit. As a united front they face their toughest battles in life yet, and somehow come out on the winning side of it, but not without a few blemishes here and there. The Secret of the Irish Castle is a moving tale of three women at different stages in their lives, each finding heartache, happiness, and love; but not without a little drama to be dealt with here and there. This was my first encounter with not only the series, but also this author's work and I have to say I was left impressed on all fronts, her sweeping tale was enlightening and uplifting and her characters were well crafted and easy to attach to; overall it was quite a delightful tale! I look forward to exploring other novels from this author in the very near future, and being swept up in the enchanting worlds of more of her wonderful characters! I highly recommend you pick this one up, between the pages of this wonderful novel is epic love story that is certain to leave you smiling! I requested an advanced copy of this title from the publisher, and I am voluntarily leaving my honest opinion.