The Selected Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder

The Selected Letters of Laura Ingalls Wilder

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062419705
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/08/2016
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 501,973
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

William Anderson is a historian, educator, and author of twenty-five books of biography, travel, and history. His groundbreaking research on Laura Ingalls Wilder and her books led to many HarperCollins titles, including Laura Ingalls Wilder: A Biography, Laura Ingalls Wilder Country, and A Little House Sampler. He has also written for Travel & Leisure, the Saturday Evening Post, the Christian Science Monitor, and many other national magazines. Anderson is a frequent speaker at conferences, schools, and libraries. He makes his home in Michigan.

Laura Ingalls Wilder (1867–1957) was born in a log cabin in the Wisconsin woods. With her family, she pioneered throughout America’s heartland during the 1870s and 1880s, finally settling in Dakota Territory. She married Almanzo Wilder in 1885; their only daughter, Rose, was born the following year. The Wilders moved to Rocky Ridge Farm at Mansfield, Missouri, in 1894, where they established a permanent home. After years of farming, Laura wrote the first of her beloved Little House books in 1932. The nine Little House books are international classics. Her writings live on into the twenty-first century as America’s quintessential pioneer story.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Introduction: "Certainly You May Call Me Laura" xiii

A Note on Editing xxi

A Laura Ingalls Wilder Chronology xxiii

Part I

Chapter 1 The Farmers Wife (1894-1920) 3

Chapter 2 The Emerging Writer (1921-1930) 25

Chapter 3 A New Enterprise (1931-1936) 59

Part II

Chapter 4 Star of the Children's Department (1937-1943) 105

Chapter 5 The Last Golden Years (1944-1949) 256

Chapter 6 The Author of Classics (1950-1956) 314

Afterword 377

Index 381

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews