The Sigil Trilogy (Omnibus vol.1-3)

The Sigil Trilogy (Omnibus vol.1-3)

by Henry Gee

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The amazing Sigil Trilogy complete in one volume!

From Nature Editor Henry Gee comes a story of breathtaking scope and beloved characters. Spanning millions of years and the breadth of the universe, The Sigil Trilogy is an epic tale that explores the nature of humanity, belief, and love.

The Universe is dying from within. No one knows how to save it, so the Elders give a young Drover a last ditch chance to stop the rot. If only she knew where to begin.

Unaware of the threat to the universe, Ruxhana Fengen Kraa, Admiral of the 17th Rigel Fleet, is about to be cashiered for a stupendous tactical error. But Special Ops has an important and most bizarre job for him.

Eons away in time, Jack Corstophine is an archaeologist on Earth with an intuition about the land that he can't put into words—until the beautiful and brilliant Jadis Markham comes into his life. Together, they discover that the landscape of Europe is far from natural. The Earth bears the scars of an ancient civilization that goes back millions of years — and has terrible implications for the future of mankind.

The Sigil Trilogy traces the lives of compelling characters — people... entities... and... species... — through time and space. It's magnificent in background, beautifully written, and with the most memorable characters. The Sigil Trilogy is spellbinding, funny, thoughtful, and touching all at the same time. Complete with complex mysteries, massive battles, romance, hot aliens, steampunk cities, good scotch, armageddon, it's all here — you won't be able to put it down.

Praise for THE SIGIL TRILOGY:

"Henry Gee stakes his claim to excellence with these startling, beautifully written tales of cosmic adventure. Brisk, funny, triumphant--and utterly compelling."
—Greg Bear, award-winning author of Darwin's Radio

"Great stuff. Touches of Douglas Adams, Barrington Bayley, David Britton and Steve Ayelet only emphasise the splendid originality of this book. Henry Gee is thoughtful, funny, original. And pretty thoroughly mind-expanding in the tradition of Wells, David Lindsay, Stapledon and Clarke. In fact everything you yearn to find in a very good contemporary SF novel. Really enjoyed it!"
—SFWA Grandmaster Michael Moorcock

"Coming to a science fiction novel by Henry Gee I was expecting a work knowledgeable about the world and all its ways, but who would have guessed it would also reveal Henry to be a visionary space voyager of the first order? The Sigil is in the grand tradition of Stapledonian space opera, and provides not only an explanation for why this universe is the way it is, but gives us the many vivid wild adventures on the part of some (very appealing) conscious characters acting to make it that way. Awesome stuff, and a true pleasure to read page by page."
—Kim Stanley Robinson, award-winning author of Red Mars

"Fast-moving, insanely inventive science fiction in the grand manner—seldom has the fate of the galaxy been handled on such a large scale. Gee draws on archeology, geology, physics, and biology to create a rich tapestry with surprises woven into every thread."
—Nancy Kress, award-winning author of Beggars in Spain

"Echoes of Olaf Stapledon and Arthur C. Clarke, with more interesting characters than either of them."
—John Gribbin

Dr. Henry Gee is senior editor at the renowned science journal Nature and editor of the award-winning Nature Futures science fiction short story series. He has written over a dozen books, including The Science of Middle Earth and A Field Guide to Dinosaurs. He lists his recreations as playing blues organ, supporting Norwich City FC and falling asleep. His blog 'The End Of The Pier Show' continues to delight its three regular readers. He lives in Cromer, Norfolk, England, with his family and numerous pets.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940046463477
Publisher: ReAnimus Press
Publication date: 12/14/2014
Series: Sigil Trilogy
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Henry Gee was born in London in 1962. He received his B.Sc. in Zoology and Genetics from the University of Leeds, and his Ph.D. in Zoology from the University of Cambridge. Since 1987 he has been on the editorial staff of Nature, the international weekly science magazine, where he is now Senior Editor of Biological Sciences, and was the founding editor of Futures, Nature’s award-winning SF column.

He is the author of several works of nonfiction including The Science of Middle-earth, In Search of Deep Time and Jacob’s Ladder; and two novels, The Sigil Trilogy and By The Sea.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Sigil Trilogy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
RichardSutton More than 1 year ago
I'm very glad that I haven't lost the ability to be astonished by fiction. Not since I read Arthur C. Clarke's Childhood's End as a teen, have I been so motivated to continue spinning out the threads of a story in my own mind. Author Gee, himself a well-known editor and writer in the science non-fiction world, also displays an amazing grip on fiction writing and cementing his readers into a story. Beyond the great descriptive passages and beautifully rendered characters though, this is a series that pushes the intellectual envelope and skewers "accepted" scientific thinking. Only in well-conceived scifi can we begin to grapple with questions as broadly confounding or try to understand where physics and religion share spaces in our minds. The Sigil Trilogy is such an undertaking. The author has provided a well-supported set of answers to some of man's oldest, deepest questions and taken the reader along on an adventure spanning the galaxies, across billions of years. I found myself blinking away astonishment through each of the three books. For anyone who enjoys reading truly monumental, epic speculative fiction, this is the ticket. If you have any interest in our widely diverse family of hominid species, you will be transported, as I was.