B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Silence Between Us

The Silence Between Us

by Alison Gervais

Hardcover(New Edition)

$16.99 $18.99 Save 11% Current price is $16.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 7

Overview

“The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able.” (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

“This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read.” (YA and Kids Book Central)

#Own Voices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

“It’s time we see more Deaf characters in books. It’s time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture,” said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating—and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life—Deaf and hearing alike—ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #Own Voices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Ce Ce Bell


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310766162
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 08/13/2019
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 85,353
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 5.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 940L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Alison Gervais began writing at the age of five and gained recognition by posting her work on Wattpad in 2011. She graduated from Colorado State University - Pueblo with a degree in English and published her first novel, In 27 Days, in 2017. Alison currently resides on the East coast with her husband, their daughter, two cats, and one very mischievous German Shepherd.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items