The Silence Between Us

The Silence Between Us

by Alison Gervais

Hardcover(New Edition)

$15.99 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

“The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able.” (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

“This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read.” (YA and Kids Book Central)

#Own Voices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

“It’s time we see more Deaf characters in books. It’s time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture,” said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating—and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life—Deaf and hearing alike—ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #Own Voices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Ce Ce Bell

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310766162
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 08/13/2019
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 38,852
Product dimensions: 8.50(w) x 5.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 940L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Alison Gervais began writing at the age of five and gained recognition by posting her work on Wattpad in 2011. She graduated from Colorado State University - Pueblo with a degree in English and published her first novel, In 27 Days, in 2017. Alison is still figuring out what else she’d like to do in life, but as for now, she plans to keep rereading Harry Potter, watching Supernatural and Law and Order: SVU, and enjoying life with her husband, their two cats Jane and Smoke, and their German Shepherd, Luna.

Customer Reviews