The Silence in Black and White [CD/DVD]

The Silence in Black and White [CD/DVD]

by Hawthorne Heights

CD(Bonus DVD / Reissue)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Silence in Black and White [CD/DVD]

The closest Hawthorne Heights' debut album comes to originality is that they rip off bands in two different genres, trying to blend the pop-emo of Thursday, Jimmy Eat World, and the other post-Weezer bands with the glossy, commercial pop of bands like Good Charlotte. With J.T. Woodruff's faceless alternative rock vocals alternating with Casey Calvert's equally generic metalcore barking over Micah Carli's heard-it-before power chords, the band is doing absolutely nothing new. That said, what they do, they do pretty well. Most of the songs have reasonably catchy choruses, there are no particularly egregious mistakes or failed experiments, and the leadoff single, "Life on Standby," is actually quite good in a completely disposable way. The overall lack of personality on this album is its fatal flaw, however. There's nothing on The Silence in Black and White that'll make anyone turn it off and throw the CD across the room in a fit of rage, but it's hard to remember anything about the album an hour after it's over. [Victory Records reissued the album in 2005 as a CD/DVD with alternate cover art. The wealth bonus content includes concert footage, interviews, commercial spots, music videos, and seven previously unreleased songs, some of them demos.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2005
Label: Victory Records
UPC: 0746105025028
catalogNumber: 250


Disc 1

  1. Life on Standby
  2. Dissolve and Decay
  3. Niki FM
  4. The Transition
  5. Blue Burns Orange
  6. Silver Bullet
  7. Screenwriting an Apology
  8. Ohio Is for Lovers
  9. Wake Up Call
  10. Sandpaper and Silk
  11. Speeding Up the Octaves
  12. Silver Bullet
  13. Niki FM
  14. Speeding Up the Octaves
  15. Ohio Is for Lovers
  16. The Transition
  17. Silver Bullet
  18. Apparently Hover Boards Don't Work on Water (As a Day in the Life)

Disc 2

  1. Life on Standby
  2. Silver Bullet
  3. Niki FM
  4. The Transition
  5. Ohio Is for Lovers
  6. Speeding Up the Octaves
  7. Signing Footage
  8. Interview With Hawthorne Heights
  9. Yahoo! Music Interview
  10. Yahoo! Music - Ohio Is for Lovers
  11. Ohio Is for Lovers
  12. Seven Commerical Spots
  13. Speeding Up the Octaves
  14. Audio Commentary on "Ohio Is for Lovers"
  15. Victory Van Raiders
  16. Bus Tour With J.T. of Hawthorne Heights
  17. Fans of Hawthorne Heights Montage

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This cd is really awesome to listen too. The first time I heard it I became a huge fan!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like "Ohio is for Lovers" and "The Transition" but the rest are just not the greatest piecies of music that I worship. This CD graces my CD player only every so often. Please review it on before you purhase.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love how original they are. And the first time I heard them I was totally hooked. And not only is there music the greatest but they are hott!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This CD is great. Ohio is For Lovers is a great song. Get this CD
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this cd! All of its songs are equally great, and I can listen to them over and over again without getting bored. They are the first band to get me hooked on this genre of music. I love it!