The Skip Scarborough Songbook

The Skip Scarborough Songbook

by Skip Scarborough


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, September 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The Skip Scarborough Songbook

The Expansion label's Ralph Tee admits that The Skip Scarborough Songbook is not a definitive anthology, but such a thing would be impossible within the space of one disc. What's missing? Hits like the Friends of Distinction's "Love Me or Let Me Be Lonely" and Bill Withers' "Lovely Day," along with deep treasures like Bobbi Humphrey's "The Trip" and Harvey Mason's "Pack Up Your Bags," for starters. George Benson's version of "Love Ballad" (a number three R&B hit in 1979) could just as easily be here instead of L.T.D.'s original (a 1976 R&B chart-topper), and as far as "Can't Hide Love" is concerned -- represented here by Dionne Warwick's version -- take your pick between Creative Source, Carmen McRae, Earth, Wind & Fire, and even Jaye P. Morgan (among others). No matter what, the disc is a fine and overdue showcase for Scarborough, who thrived during the mid-'70s through the early '80s with a series of soaring and positive love songs, some of which -- like Earth, Wind & Fire's self-named song -- were imbued with spirituality. He even granted heartache queen Phyllis Hyman one of her few happy moments with the bursting "Living Inside Your Love." Mother's Finest's "Love Changes," Patti LaBelle's "It's Alright with Me," Maxi Anderson's "Lover to Lover," and Wilbert Longmire's overlooked version of "Love's Holiday" (originally recorded by EW&F) are among the other selections that all fans of smooth soul should possess.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2011
Label: Imports
UPC: 5019421265368
catalogNumber: 1818317
Rank: 154857


  1. Lover to Lover
  2. Earth, Wind and Fire
  3. Why Did You Let Me Love You
  4. Funky Luvah
  5. Let Me Be the One
  6. Let's Get Together
  7. I Can Hardly Wait
  8. Tell Me
  9. Love's Holiday
  10. Love Changes
  11. He Don't Lie
  12. It's Alright With Me
  13. Living Inside Your Love
  14. Can't Hide Love
  15. Don't Ask My Neighbors
  16. Love Ballad
  17. No One

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews