Soft Parade [50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]

Soft Parade [50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]

by The DoorsThe Doors

CD(Special Edition / Anniversary Edition / ATTRIBUTE WLP)

$62.09 $62.99 Save 1% Current price is $62.09, Original price is $62.99. You Save 1%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


The most uneven studio album recorded with Jim Morrison in the group, partially because their experiments with brass and strings on about half the tracks weren't entirely successful. More to the point, though, this was their weakest overall set of material, low lights including filler like "Do It" and "Runnin' Blue," a strange bluegrass-soul blend that was a small hit. On the other hand, about half the record is quite good, especially the huge hit "Touch Me" (their most successful integration of orchestration), the vicious hard rock riffs of "Wild Child," the overlooked "Shaman's Blues," and the lengthy title track, a multi-part suite that was one of the band's best attempts to mix rock with poetry. "Tell All the People" and "Wishful Sinful," both penned by Robbie Krieger, were uncharacteristically wistful tunes that became small hits.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2019
Label: Elektra / Wea
UPC: 0603497851324
catalogNumber: 596001
Rank: 22455


Disc 1

  1. Tell All the People
  2. Touch Me
  3. Shaman’s Blues
  4. Do It
  5. Easy Ride
  6. Wild Child
  7. Runnin’ Blue
  8. Wishful Sinful
  9. The Soft Parade
  10. Who Scared You

Disc 2

  1. Tell All the People
  2. Touch Me
  3. Runnin’ Blue
  4. Wishful Sinful
  5. Who Scared You
  6. Roadhouse Blues
  7. (You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further
  8. I’m Your Doctor
  9. Touch Me
  10. Runnin’ Blue
  11. Wishful Sinful

Disc 3

  1. I Am Troubled
  2. Seminary School (aka “Petition The Lord With Prayer”)
  3. Rock is Dead
  4. Chaos

Disc 4

  1. Tell All the People
  2. Touch Me
  3. Shaman’s Blues
  4. Do It
  5. Easy Ride
  6. Wild Child
  7. Runnin’ Blue
  8. Wishful Sinful
  9. The Soft Parade

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doors   Primary Artist
Curtis Amy   Saxophone,Soloist
Lou Blackburn   Trombone
Jim Morrison   Vocals,Group Member
Ray Manzarek   Keyboards,Vocals,Group Member
John Densmore   Drums,Group Member
Jesse McReynolds   Mandolin
Reinol Andino   Conga
John Audino   Trumpet
Harry Bluestone   Violin
Norman Botnick   Strings,Violin,Leader
Harvey Brooks   Bass
Jim Buchanan   Fiddle
John DeVoogdt   Violin
Nathan Gershman   Cello
Harris Goldman   Violin
John Kelson   Saxophone,Woodwind
Jerome Kessler   Cello
John Lowe   Saxophone,Woodwind
Doug Lubahn   Bass
Jay Migliori   Saxophone,Woodwind
Jerome Reisler   Violin
Isadore Roman   Violin
Victor Sazer   Cello
Darrel Terwilliger   Violin
Champ Webb   English Horn,Soloist
Ray Daniels   Vocals
Robby Krieger   Guitar,Choir, Chorus,Group Member
Jules Chalkin   Trumpet,Horn,Leader
George Bohanan   Soloist

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Hoyt Axton   Composer
Doors   Composer
Elvis Presley   Composer
Jim Morrison   Arranger,Composer
Ray Manzarek   Arranger
John Densmore   Arranger
Bruce Botnick   Liner Notes,Re-Release Producer
Joe Davis   Composer
Robert DeLeo   Engineer
Junior Parker   Composer
Paul Rothchild   Producer
John Davenport   Composer
Sam Phillips   Composer
David Fricke   Liner Notes
Brian Carman   Composer
Eddie Cooley   Composer
Bob Spickard   Composer
William S. Harvey   Art Direction
Peter Schaumann   Illustrations
Tommy Durden   Composer
Vera Matson   Composer
James Oden   Composer
Robby Krieger   Arranger,Composer,Engineer
Paul Harris   Orchestral Arrangements

Customer Reviews