The Songs of Robert Burns, Vols. 5 & 6

The Songs of Robert Burns, Vols. 5 & 6

by Jean Redpath


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Songs of Robert Burns, Vols. 5 & 6

Jean Redpath was undoubtedly the finest and most influential singer of traditional Scottish music when she made her groundbreaking seven-LP series of Robert Burns songs for the Philo label in the mid-'80s. In 1996 they were reissued on CD to commemorate the bicentennial of Burns' death. Both the original releases and the reissues would be cause for great celebration for lovers of this repertoire, except that the instrumental settings within which Redpath sings are rather idiosyncratic. All are the result of extensive research by the composer Serge Hovey, who determined which melodies Burns had intended for each song; Hovey then composed chamber ensemble arrangements based on those melodies. Some of them are exquisite -- the stark and lovely string orchestra setting on "My Nannie, O" is the perfect accompaniment to Redpath's smoky mezzo-soprano voice, and the arpeggiated piano part on "Lament of Mary, Queen of Scots" works beautifully as well. But, too often the accompaniment calls too much attention to itself, distracting both from the songs and from Redpath. This is particularly true of the bravura piano on "Killiecrankie" and the off-kilter flute and piano parts on "O, This Is No My Ain Lassie." Recommended, but with reservations.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/20/1996
Label: Philo Records
UPC: 0011671118925
catalogNumber: 1189

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jean Redpath   Primary Artist,Vocals
Keith Jarrett   Piano
Heather Corbett   Percussion
Daniel Hovey   Musical Direction
Colin Mitchell   Synthesizer
David Price   Horn
Kevin Anderson   Recorder
Ken LaRoche   Flute,Alto Flute,Piccolo
Dave Brubaker   Trumpet
William Storandt   Timpani
Lucy Cowan   Violin,Viola
Peter Mountain   Violin
Kenneth Blackwood   Horn
Patricia Bloomfield   Viola
Peter Bodenham   Vocals
Ian Budd   Viola
Elizabeth Clendenning   Violin
Elizabeth Fyfe   Oboe
Virginia Henson   Clarinet
Robert Peskin   Synthesizer,Bass (Vocal)
Rick Presson   Double Bass
Graham Robb   Double Bass
Lynn Shevitz   Soprano (Vocal),Alto (Vocal)
Henryk Sienkiewicz   Horn
Richard Wakeford   Horn
Tina Tourin   Harp
Marilyn Johnson   Viola
Bill Paterson   Cello
Donald Maxwell   Vocals
Alcott Ensemble   Ensemble
Linda Ormiston   Vocals
Michael Beeston   Viola
Hugh Bradley   Violin
Ninian Perry   Double Bass
Melissa Brown   Cello
Lawrence Glover   Piano
Philip Norris   Cello
Bob Peskin   Synthesizer,Bass (Vocal)
Susan Borg   Soprano (Vocal)
David Brubaker   Trumpet
Paragon Ensemble   Ensemble
Jim Lienau   Tenor (Vocal)
Buchanan   Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael Couture   Engineer
Daniel Hovey   Producer,Musical Director
Jonathan Wyner   Remixing
Brian Young   Engineer
Serge Hovey   Arranger,Adaptation
Barbara Grigor   Executive Producer
Robert Peskin   Producer
Lynn Shevitz   Producer
Esther Hovey   Liner Notes
Alcott Ensemble   Contributor
Robert Burns   Text
Brian Young   Engineer
William H. Schubart   Executive Producer
Bob Peskin   Producer
Carol H. Ford   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews