The Source Presents: Hip Hop Hits, Vol. 5

The Source Presents: Hip Hop Hits, Vol. 5


The fifth volume in the Source's Hip Hop Hits series compiles many of the most popular rap songs of 2001, resulting in a convenient year-end summation for the holiday season. As expected, there's a little bit of everything here: East Coast rap (DMX's "We Right Here," P. Diddy's "Bad Boy for Life," and Jadakiss' "Put Ya Hands Up"), Dirty South (Trick Daddy's "I'm a Thug," Ludacris' "Area Codes," and Missy Elliott's "Get Ur Freak On"), pop-rap (Ja Rule and J Lo's "I'm Real," Eve and Gwen Stefani's "Let Me Blow Ya Mind," and Nelly's "Ride Wit Me"), and West Coast rap (Xzibit's "Front 2 Back"). Unfortunately, while it's no doubt hard to please everyone, a few more West Coast tracks would have been nice since Xzibit's contribution isn't really that spectacular and Snoop Dogg's appearance on a remix of OutKast's "So Fresh, So Clean" doesn't really count. Plus, you have to wonder why the Iconz's "Get F***ed Up" and Benzino's "Bang Ta Dis" are here, since they were minor hits at best. Nevertheless, you can't argue with most of the picks, particularly since the essentials -- "I'm Real," "Let Me Blow Ya Mind," and "Get Ur Freak On" -- are here. [The clean edition edits any profanity or questionable language.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/18/2001
Label: Def Jam
UPC: 0731458666226
catalogNumber: 586662

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mark Curry   Track Performer
Snoop Dogg   Vocals
DMX   Track Performer
OutKast   Track Performer
Spragga Benz   Background Vocals
Xzibit   Track Performer
Jazze Pha   Background Vocals
Gwen Stefani   Track Performer
Big Tymers   Track Performer
Big Boi   Vocals
Ja Rule   Track Performer
Jennifer Lopez   Track Performer
Robert Ross   Track Performer
Benzino   Track Performer
Jadakiss   Track Performer
Trick Daddy   Track Performer
Nelly   Track Performer
Iconz   Track Performer
Ludacris   Track Performer
Cash Money Millionaires   Track Performer
Sleepy Brown   Vocals,Background Vocals
Puff Daddy   Track Performer
André 3000   Vocals,Background Vocals
City Spud   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Dr. Dre   Producer
Mannie Fresh   Producer
Organized Noize   Composer
David Mays   Executive Producer
Jazze Pha   Producer
Mike Elizondo   Composer
Irv Gotti   Producer
Andre Young   Composer
Rockwilder   Producer
André Benjamin   Composer
Dana Stinson   Composer
Lyor Cohen   Executive Producer
Antwan Patton   Composer
Eminem   Producer
Kevin Liles   Executive Producer
Hangmen 3   Producer
Nathaniel Hale   Composer
Steven "Steven J." Jordan   Composer
Raymond Scott   Executive Producer
Otto D'Angolo   Engineer
Eddie Scoresazy   Producer
Jason "Jay E" Epperson   Producer
Gorilla Tek   Producer
Scott Storch   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews