The Spaghetti Epic: Six Suites for Modern Prog Bands

The Spaghetti Epic: Six Suites for Modern Prog Bands


$44.64 $46.99 Save 5% Current price is $44.64, Original price is $46.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Spaghetti Epic: Six Suites for Modern Prog Bands

What Colossus (the Finnish progressive rock association, not the band) is doing in collaboration with the French progressive rock label Musea borders upon pure genius. Their concept of themed collaborative projects may not be reinventing the wheel, but it has brought a gust of fresh air to the prog rock scene, simply because it approaches the compilation album from an original angle and attempts to bring a new golden age for the "concept album." Following the already impressive Kalevala set (a three-CD compilation based on the Finnish epic tale), The Spaghetti Epic features six bands from Finland, Italy, the Netherlands, and the U.K. Each band had to choose a character from Sergio Leone's Once Upon a Time in the West and write an original progressive rock suite of at least 20 minutes, in the vintage Italian style of the '70s. No digital keyboards or drum programming were allowed and singers could sing in their mother tongue if they so desired. The result is a highly coherent and gripping double album of very fine and highly focused prog. The project is concerned solely with Leone's storyline and cinematography, not with Ennio Morricone's score, so please don't approach The Spaghetti Epic as a Morricone tribute or you will be in for bitter disappointment. That being said, Haikara's song about "The West" (rightly considered here as a character in itself) acknowledges the composer's role in the movie. It is mysterious, soft-spoken, dust-filled, and simply gorgeous in its moods, scope, and melodic contents. Tilion's "Cheyenne" and La Voce del Vento's "Harmonica" also stand out. The latter is not an Italian group, but Parallel or 90 Degrees and the Tangent members Andy Tillison and Guy Manning working as a two-man unit for this project only. There is not a single weak piece on this album and, as happened on its companion release, The Colossus of Rhodes (another Sergio Leone-related Colossus project following the same guidelines), each band involved has pulled out all the stops to deliver some of its best work (the other groups involved are Randone, Taproban, and Trion). One must also mention the generous booklet, which includes a presentation of the project, an analysis of the movie, a synopsis, a comic book, and lyrics (with English translations where applicable) to all songs. Highly recommended, especially to supporters of old-school progressive rock.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/12/2005
Label: Musea Records France
UPC: 3426300045263
catalogNumber: 4526
Rank: 197766

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beppe Crovella   Hammond Organ,Moog Synthesizer,Mellotron,Piano (Grand)
Guy Manning   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Mandolin,Percussion,Electric Bass,Drums,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,Mellotron,Classical Guitar,spanish guitar,fender rhodes,String Machine,Mini Moog,Piano (Grand),Fender Stratocaster,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Edo Spanninga   Organ,Electric Piano,Mellotron
Eddie Mulder   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Vesa Lattunen   Accordion,Conductor,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Jukka Teerisaari   Drums
Saara Hedlund   Vocals
Hannu Kivilä   Cello
Nicola Randone   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Tomi Mykkänen   Electric Bass
Claudio Cattero   Background Vocals
Bobo Aiolfi   Double Bass,Fender Jazz Bass
Leila Bahlouri   Vocals
Menno Boomsma   Cymbals,Drums,Snare Drums
Paolo Cassago   Percussion,Drums
Alfio Costa   Hammond Organ,Mellotron,Mini Moog,Piano (Grand)
Gianluca DeRossi   Synthesizer,Vocals,Mini Moog
Tuomo Helin   Double Bass
Guglielmo Mariotti   Synthesizer,Electric Bass,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Maria Modica   Vocals
Livio Rabito   Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Andrea Ricci   Vocals,Voices
Hannu Rontu   Snare Drums,Wood Block,Grand Cassa
Tommi Sällinen   Accordion

Technical Credits

Guy Manning   Composer
Edo Spanninga   Composer,Engineer
Eddie Mulder   Composer
Andy Tillison   Composer
Raimo Eurasto   Liner Notes
Vesa Lattunen   Arranger,Composer
Mikko Hakanen   Art Direction
Nicola Randone   Composer
Taproban   Composer
Marco Bernard   Executive Producer,Concept,Cover Painting
Claudio Cattero   Engineer
R. Carlo Aiolfi   Engineer
Menno Boomsma   Composer
Alfio Costa   Composer
Mike Eustace   Liner Notes
Gabriele Lepre "The Wizard"   Engineer
Jake Mäkinen   Contributor
Raimondo Mosci   Engineer
Peter Patti   translation
Massimo Ruscitto   Engineer
Kuja Salmi   Special Effects
Stefano Scagni   Illustrations

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews