The Specter (Waxwood Series, #1)

The Specter (Waxwood Series, #1)

by Tam May

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


To exorcise a specter, one must go back to the past…


In 1892 San Francisco, Nob Hill's finest gather to mourn the death of Penelope Alderdice. When an uninvited guest shows up claiming to have known Mrs. Alderdice under another name, the Alderdices are shocked. Bertha Ross insists she knew "Grace" in the small coastal town of Waxwood in the 1850s and hints at Penelope's adventures there, including a love affair and exile to an artist's colony.


Vivian, Penelope's nineteen-year-old granddaughter, never heard of Grace or Waxwood. Is it possible her grandmother had another identity beyond the generous philanthropist and celebrated socialite?


Against her family's wishes, Vivian journeys to Waxwood to discover the secrets of her grandmother's past.


But are some family truths better left hidden?


Follow Vivian's journey in the first book of this family saga set in San Francisco's Gilded Age by the author of the bestseller LESSONS FROM MY MOTHER'S LIFE, which debuted at #1 on the Amazon Historical Short Stories charts.


Get The Specter today and put yourself in the shoes of a Gilded Age belle who takes time away from her parties and flirtations to follow the ghosts of the past.




False Fathers (Waxwood Series: Book 2)

Pathfinding Women (Waxwood Series: Book 3)

Dandelion Children (Waxwood Series: Book 4) - coming in December 2020

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156540167
Publisher: Dreambook Press
Publication date: 06/28/2019
Series: Waxwood Series
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 314,865
File size: 561 KB

About the Author

Tam May started writing when she was fourteen, and writing became her voice. She loves history and wants readers to love it too, so she writes historical fiction that lives and breathes a world of the past. She fell in love with San Francisco and its rich history when she learned about its resilience and rebirth after the 1906 earthquake and fire during a walking tour. She grew up in the United States and earned a B.A. and M.A in English. She worked as an English college instructor (where she managed to interest a class full of wary freshmen in Henry James’ fiction) and EFL teacher (using literature to teach English to business professionals) before she became a full-time writer.

Her book Lessons From My Mother’s Life debuted at #1 on Amazon in the Historical Fiction Short Stories category. She is currently working on a Gilded Age family drama titled the Waxwood Series. The first book of the series, The Specter, came out in June 2019, and the second book, False Fathers, was released in December of that year. Book 3, Pathfinding Women is out now, and Book 4 will be released in December 2020.

Tam lives in Texas but calls San Francisco and the Bay Area “home”. When she’s not writing, she’s reading classic literature, watching classic films, cross-stitching, or cooking up yummy vegetarian dishes.

For more information on Tam May and her work, check out her website at You can also sign up for her newsletter, which features lots of information on fascinating psychological and social history and subscriber-exclusive sneak peaks, giveaways, and polls. plus a free short story.

Customer Reviews