The Spiral Staircase and Other Novellas

The Spiral Staircase and Other Novellas

by Clive Radford

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Differing themes and voices, some classic, some contemporary, others though mysterious, planted firmly in reality are used to depict an assortment of psychological suspense thrillers, coming of age sagas and modern satires in 'The Spiral Staircase and other Novellas'.

When Francis Blake explores Eastgate House to find a new computer game theme, he becomes the target of a chimera in 'The Spiral Staircase', the supernatural encounter resulting in his breakdown. Recovering, he returns to Eastgate House where the phantom engulfs him, becoming his nemesis.

Born into the Cold War age and the rise of the Beatles, 'Growing up with the Rolling Stones' charts the experiences of Gavin Anderson. Enthralled by the Rolling Stones, he makes them the centrepiece of his nascent years.

When Renata Lapham becomes agitated by Radio Islington talk show host Jarred O'Gara, it leads to an unexpected confrontation and a very gory conclusion in 'Death of a Radio Talk Show Host'.
In 'Journeys End', domestic and career ambition conflicts between Kory and Candice Farnham come to a head in an unforeseen Belize cataclysm.

Emile Chevalier wrestles with distilling great performances from prima ballerinas Madame Blanchard and Madame Dubois in 'The Ballet Meister's Calling'.

Cursed by a deceitful hussy, 'I Dream in Technicolour' sketches Gene Fogarty's restless nights resulting in years of unresolved psychoanalysis with Dr. Cribb.

Authors' Mikhail Bulgakov and Vladimir Nabokov lock horns in their drive to discover a source of inspiration to endow their works with brio in 'Kashmir: A Visionary's Tale'.

Alicia and her band of English writers cause the New Orleans Literary Society headaches when they present their controversial themes in 'ME7 Writers go large in New Orleans'.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940160906935
Publisher: Melange Books, LLC
Publication date: 11/23/2021
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 683 KB

About the Author

Clive Radford began writing at school, then university but mainly through subsequent life experience.

A series of his short stories and poems have been published by Ether Books. The Arts Council has sponsored publication of his novels 'One Night in Tunisia' and 'The Sounds of Silence'. His contemporary satire 'Doghouse Blues' was number one in Harper Collins Authonomy chart and has been awarded gold medal status. It has been published by Black Rose. His spy thriller 'Zavrazin' has been published by Triplicity Publishing. It's companion sequel 'Nexus Bullet' is published by Ex-L-Ence Publishing. His three-book coming of age series 'Disclosures of a Femme Fatale Addict' has been published by both Wild Dreams Publishing and Miraclaire Publishing. His science fiction novel 'Maggie's Farm', suspense-thriller 'Incident at Lahore Basin’ and his satires ‘Doghouse Blues 2’, ‘Doghouse Blues 3’ and ‘Doghouse Blues Revised and Remastered’ are published by Rogue Phoenix Press. Melange Books has published his mystery thriller, 'Monsoon in the Making'.

The 'Zavrazin' screenplay is under contract with Story Merchant/Atchity Productions for film production.

Rogue Phoenix Press will be publishing his contemporary thriller ‘Alpha Centauri’ February 2022.

Currently, he is crafting a number of works including ‘Desolation Argonauts’, a rite of passage sojourn along Route 66, ‘Three Cheshire Boys’ a comedic thriller, ‘Colby Richmond: The University Years’, the coming of age sequel to ‘Disclosures of a Femme Fatale Addict’ and ‘Mozart meets McCartney’, a mystery.

His work has a distinctive voice setting it apart and appealing to those fascinated by intrigue, and who question status quo accepted views.

Customer Reviews