The Story of Egypt: The Civilization that Shaped the World

The Story of Egypt: The Civilization that Shaped the World

by Joann Fletcher


$26.96 $29.95 Save 10% Current price is $26.96, Original price is $29.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22


The story of the world's greatestcivilization—spanning 4,000 years of history—full ofepic stories,spectacular places, and an evolvingsociety rich ininventors, heroes, villains, and pioneers.

The story of the world's greatest civilization spans 4,000 years of history that have shaped the world. It is full of spectacular cities and epic stories—an evolving society rich in inventors, heroes, heroines, villains, artisans, and pioneers. Professor Joann Fletcher pulls together the complete story of Egypt—charting the rise and fall of the ancient Egyptians while putting their whole world into a context to which we can all relate.

Fletcher uncovers some fascinating revelations: new evidence shows that women became pharaohs on at least ten occasions; and that the ancient Egyptians built the first Suez Canal and then circumnavigated Africa. From Ramses II's penchant for dying his grey hair to how we know that Montuhotep's chief wife bit her nails, Dr. Joann Fletcher brings alive the history and people of ancient Egypt as nobody else can.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681771342
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Pages: 496
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.90(d)

About the Author

ProfessorJoann Fletcheris based in theDepartment of Archaeology at the University of York, where she teaches worldmummification and funeraryarchaeology. She is the author ofeight books, includingThe Search for Nefertiti andCleopatra the Great. Among her many televisionappearances, the follow-up program toThe Search For Nefertitiwon a BAFTA, a Royal Television Society Award, and anAssociation for InternationalBroadcasting Award. Most recently, she wrote andpresentedLife and Death in the Valley of the Kingsfor BBC2, and is nowworking on the four-part seriesThe Story of Egyptfor the BBC and PBS.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 In the Beginning 5

2 Sahara Savannah: c.55,000-5500 BC 11

3 Seeking the Waters: c.5500-3500 BC 17

4 The North-South Divide: c.3500-3100 BC 30

5 Lords and Ladies of the Two Lands: c.3100-2890 BC 39

6 Shifting Focus: c.2890-2686 BC 54

7 The Rise of the Pyramid Age: c.2667-2613 BC 60

8 Sons and Daughters of the Sun: c.2613-2494 BC 66

9 The Rule of Ra: c.2494-2375 BC 83

10 Clouds Across the Sun: c.2375-2181 BC 96

11 Anarchy in the Two Lands: c.2181-1985 BC 112

12 Classic .Kingdom, Middle Kingdom: c.1985-1855 BC 127

13 Proliferate, Disintegrate: c.1855-1650 BC 145

14 Divided and Conquered: c.1650-1550 BC 157

15 Dawn of the Golden Age: c.1550-1425 BC 168

16 Zenith of the Sun: c.1425-1352 BC 196

17 Reflected Glories: c.1352-1295 BC 217

18 Reigns of the Ramessides: c.1295-1069 EC 235

19 Decline, Rise and Fall: c.1069-332 BC 268

20 The Final Flourish: 332-30 BC 304

Chronology 369

Note on Spellings 377

Acknowledgements 379

Notes on Sources 381

Select Bibliography 426

Picture Acknowledgements 461

Index 463

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews