The Stranger's Wife: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

The Stranger's Wife: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist

by Anna-Lou Weatherley

Paperback

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27

Overview

Beth and Cath are leaving their husbands.



This is a story about two very different women.



One is wealthy and having an affair with a man who gives her the kind of love that her cold, detached husband does not.



One is living hand to mouth, suffering at the hands of a violent partner who would rather see her dead than leave him.



You may think you know these women already and how their lives will unfold.



Beth will live happily ever after with her little girl and her soulmate.



Cath will go back to her abusive husband.



And these two women will never cross paths.



But you will be wrong.



On the 3.15pm train from London to Bristol, Beth and Cath are about to meet and discover they share one shocking thing in common.



A clever, engrossing and absolutely unputdownable page-turner of a read about what really lies beneath the surface of a marriage. Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will be hooked on The Stranger’s Wife.



Read what everyone is saying about Anna-Lou Weatherley:



A.......maz........ing, what a fantastic book, loved every word on every page, a great psychological thriller that held my interest throughout and I didn't want it to end… I could carry on raving about this book but just read it for yourself, I can definitely recommend, you will not be disappointed.’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars



‘Gripping, page-turner, disturbing, just a few words I would use to describe this fantastic read! I loved this book, it reminded me of The Girl on the Train and quickly became one of my new favorites!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



Ten stars for being able to keep me up until 4 a.m. I just HAD to finish this book! I cannot begin to describe how riveting this novel was. Great writing, characterizations, plot, timing, suspense – it has it all. Trust me, you will NOT be able to put it down until you finish reading it. So many mediocre thrillers out there that this one hit me like a ton of bricks. Absolutely SUPERB!’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars



What an explosive read… this is a loop the loop rollercoaster of a ride, you better strap in and get ready, your head will be spinning trying to keep up with all the twists, betrayals, friendships, heartache, loss… this book has it all, puts a whole new meaning on the term psychological thriller!!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



Flipping heck! It's a while since I've raced through a book like this, so engrossed that I literally did nothing today except read. I was caught from the very first line and it wouldn't let me go… The story is so well written, the characters so fleshed out and real, it was like watching a movie in my mind. excellent stuff!’ Rona Halsall, 5 stars



An awesome mystery that kept me guessing and guessing… The author has the ability to connect the reader with the characters and the story immediately. It's a winner!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars



I fell for this book within the first chapter! Anna-Lou Weatherley kept me guessing until the last chapter!... I read it in a few sittings. Highly recommend!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781838882181
Publisher: StoryFire LTD
Publication date: 01/16/2020
Pages: 286
Sales rank: 139,160
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.64(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Stranger's Wife: A totally gripping psychological thriller with a jaw-dropping twist 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Melissa Bartz 27 days ago
Wow, wow, wow, what a fantastic read this was. What an ending that was. This was my first book by this author and I loved it. It was a stand alone novel. This book was about two women lives that will forever change by a chance meeting. Both of these women are very broken and worn down and don’t know how they are going to make it to another day. But something changes for the better and in the end they both end up getting what they want, a fresh start. I want to start off by saying that this was a fast and amazing read. All the characters meshed so well together and kept the flow of the book going. I will admit though that I did not like Detective Dan that much at the very beginning but by the end I did see a much softer, sweeter side of him that I grew to love. The plot of this book is what kept me going. I never knew which way the book was going to take me. Each chapter was like a new adventure and I looked forward to reading the next. I could not put this one down. There were so many twists and turns that I felt like I was riding a roller coaster. I highly recommend this book. Between the plot, characters and all the twists in this book it made it an easy and fast read. I would definitely recommend it and happily give it 5 Hearts??????????
Doreena Silva 4 days ago
Thank you to NetGalley, Bookouture, and the Author for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. WOW is all I can say, this book was one bumpy ride of a great psychological thriller. The book is third in the Detective Dan Riley series. I didn't know this book was part of series when I requested it but it didn't make a difference reading it. I will most definitely be following and reading more from this author.
toReadistoEscape 13 days ago
They had me at Gone Girl. I can't resist reading a book when they compare it to Gone Girl. Sometimes it is just a ploy but this time it does not disappoint. The beginning is a little dark and depressing. But, it picks up quickly and you won't be able to put it down. I highly recommend this book if you liked Gone Girl or the Woman on the Train. I received this book from NetGalley.
Marlene976 28 days ago
This was a powerful read. Beth and Cath are two women living very different lives yet on a parallel course. There were so many twists and turns in this book. I though I knew where this was heading but boy was I wrong. Would highly recommend this book.
TheBibliovert 3 months ago
The Strangers Wife is a tough book for me to review. I liked it but yet I didn't. About halfway through the book, I got a bit bored. The story didn't hold my attention, almost to the point of not finishing it. One key point in the story was child manipulation/abuse.  Personally, I can not handle that and is an immediate turn off no matter where the story may lead. The writing itself was good. It was written in multiple points of view. It bounced back and forth between Cat and Beth, and periodically the point of view of Dan (the detective). There really weren't any surprises or twists.  The Stranger's Wife is an explanation of a crime the reader already knows about and there is no shortage of bad things happening to any number of characters. Ultimately it's a story of Cat and Beth, two abused women, getting their revenge because of "one shocking thing in common." The Stranger's Wife is the 3rd book in the Detective Dan Riley Series. I was not aware of this at the time of requesting this book. However, it is a book that can be read as a stand-alone book. After I completed this book, I don't have any desire to read the other two books in the series. * I received an ARC of this novel via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
miss_mesmerized 3 months ago
You should never underestimate a woman’s revenge. When her nanny and friend vanishes, Beth decides that - since it all will finally come out anyhow - she can also make the first step herself: she tells her husband Evan that she’s going to leave him for her affair Nick. Evan seems to accept this calmly, they have lived next to each other but hardly with each other for years now, calling this a marriage was embellishing the situation. But he warns his wife that she will be sorry for this step. At that moment, Beth doesn’t have a clue what he means, how powerful her husband actually is and first of all, WHO she has been married to all these years. With her decision to leave him, she has triggered a ball that will send her directly into hell. But Beth is a fighter, much more a fighter than Evan could ever imagine. Anna-Lou Weatherley’s novel really deserves the title “page-turner”. From the first chapter when the nanny goes missing to the very end: it is a rollercoaster ride of emotional ups and downs that fascinatingly and almost addictively keeps you reading on. The author has created enemies who fight on a very high level – a wonderful read that I enjoyed throughout. “The Stranger’s Wife” is a psychological thriller combined with some serious issues that make you ponder quite some time after having finished reading it. I totally adored the idea of a woman fighting back, not accepting fate and a bullying husband who knows all the important people and thinks that life runs according to his personal laws. Having his evil character slowly unfold was exciting and frightening at the same time since you always wonder how well you actually know the people around you and how much and what they might hide. Yet, the story also showed that marital abuse and physical as well as psychological violence happens in all social classes, the rich can be affected in the same way as the poor, money does not make a difference when it comes to aggressions. A marvellous plot with interesting and multifaceted characters, thus I can easily pardon the fact that it needed a kind of coincidence to make everything fall into place. The novel literally absorbed me and I hardly could put it down.
MonnieR 3 months ago
The story follows two abused women; Beth's suffering is largely psychological, bestowed by her cold, uncaring but wealthy husband and father of their young daughter. For love, she turns to an affair with a man who isn't shy about showing affection to her or her daughter. Catherine's abuse is both psychological and physical, the latter often turning so violent that she ends up in the hospital. In part because her husband threatens to kill her if she leaves - and in part because she has no clue what she would do even if she did - she stays in the marriage but fears the worst. Ultimately, Beth tells her husband Evan that she's found a new love and wants a divorce; he shows little emotion even then, but there's a not-so-thinly-veiled threat that he'll use his money and power to discredit Beth and gain custody of their daughter (at the very least). Riley gets involved early on when the couple's nanny and Beth's dear friend Marta goes missing and Beth calls in the police. Marta's disappearance remains a mystery that stymies the police, but then "things" happen to other key characters in both women's worlds that require further police investigation. The "aha" moment, if you will, comes when Beth and Catherine actually meet; at that point it's clear (or at least it was to me) how the story would progress. The only question is specifically how it will end for the two women. Of course, I won't divulge anything except to say there are a couple of twists. Although a few parts seemed a bit repetitive and I've read variations on this plot before, overall this is an easy-to-read, fast-paced and attention-holding book. In fact, I was grateful for the holiday lull in regular TV programming that allowed me to finish the remaining quarter without stopping - simply because I couldn't wait to get to the end. Well done, and I thank the publisher, via NetGalley, for the opportunity to read and review an advance copy.
Ratbruce 3 months ago
This is the first book I've read by Anna-Lou Weatherly but I will definitely search out more. Well developed characters, fast paced plot and intriguing twists made it a thoroughly enjoyable read. Strongly recommended.