The Sun Dogs

The Sun Dogs

by Rose Windows


$13.49 $13.99 Save 4% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $13.99. You Save 4%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, October 25 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


The Sun Dogs

In nature, a sun dog is an atmospheric illusion; a trick of the light that makes it appear as though there's more than one sun in the sky. It's nature messing with us to alter our perceptions, which makes it a natural title for Rose Windows debut outing. The Sun Dogs is an album that's all about constantly shifting your perceptions, appearing to be a sprawling post-rock album one moment, then a bluesy doom record, then a pastoral folk record, and so on, making each change gradually enough that it feels like whatever sound it's settled on is the one it's been doing all along. The truth is that it's actually all of these things and more, but Rose Windows show such a deft hand with incorporating different elements of both modern and traditional music that they themselves seem to be playing a musical shell game with the listener, moving things around so that just when you think you've figured out where you are, the musical landscape around you has shifted. The Sun Dogs never loses the listener, though, which is a pretty stellar achievement given the sprawling expanses Rose Windows creates here. Though the album's openness does require some amount of patience on the listener's part, it's a beautifully crafted album that expands upon the ground laid by the recent experiments of Earth, and will provide anyone willing to explore the depths of tracks like "Walkin' with a Woman" or "The Shroud" with a rewardingly trippy listening experience.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/25/2013
Label: Sub Pop
UPC: 0098787105322
catalogNumber: 71053
Rank: 263759

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rose Windows   Primary Artist
Eyvind Kang   Violin,Viola
Bill Herzog   Soprano (Vocal),Upright Bass
David Davila   Organ,Piano,Group Member
Jason Kardong   Pedal Steel Guitar
Janel Leppin   Cello
Whitney Flynn   Harp
Veronica Dye   Flute,Group Member
Richie Rekow   Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Rabia Shabeen Qazi   Vocals,Group Member
Pat Schowe   Drums,Group Member
Nils Petersen   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Chris Cheveyo   Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Jeff Kleinsmith   Art Direction
Eyvind Kang   String Arrangements
Randall Dunn   Producer,Engineer
Don McGreevy   Drum Technician
Rose Windows   Arranger,Art Direction
Rabia Shabeen Qazi   Composer
Chris Cheveyo   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews