The Symptoms of My Insanity

The Symptoms of My Insanity

by Mindy Raf
4.3 3

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Symptoms of My Insanity by Mindy Raf

For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine.

It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing.

Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic -- or is it epidemic?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781101592304
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 04/18/2013
Sold by: Penguin Group
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 384
File size: 479 KB
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Mindy Raf ( www.mindyraf.com) is a writer, comedienne, and musician based in Brooklyn, New York. She has written for CollegeHumor, VH1, TNT, The Daily Comedy Network, and was a contributor to the "My Parents Were Awesome" anthology. She has been invited to perform at the Women in Comedy Festival, SketchFestNYC, and the Bridgetown Comedy Festival, where she was named a "stellar surprise" by The Portland Mercury.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Symptoms of My Insanity 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book deserve a 5 star rating, why? The author managed to get me all riled up that's why! This story revisited such antics one had seen or experience during those teen years. Either good or bad experiences it was, "Ugh!" Idiots galore, why they exist, who knows? Poor Izzy, she was a mixed of frazzle hypochondriac emotions. I felt she needed a hug then she goes and do something to make you want to, "love tap her upside her head" (sorry no violence here), "Hey Wake Up Izzy!" or "Don't do it!" or "What just happened?" Her body, let's talk chest size enlarges, now she is self conscious about it and those idiot boys in her school just alleviated her downward spiraling self esteem to a level of zero. Her mother dealing with cancer, you would think will help her daughter Izzy with her self esteem, but no:( Now there's an attempt of a cover up by the girls in her school either tell the school authorities who the victim of a viral picture that is rampantly exposed on the internet highway or else no school dance. The culprit who took the picture made a bet with those idiot boys in Izzy's school and well you get the jest of things. Why people do the things they do to gain notoriety? Don't know, it's still happening. There's more to this book and I enjoyed every word. This book is well written and easy to follow, the flow of the story was exceptional and like I said, the author wrote this story so well I got all riled up reading it. So with that I gave a 5-star rating. Won this book on Goodreads, First Read Giveaway. Thank you, Darlene Cruz
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
The Symptoms of My Insanity is a laugh out loud novel with a girl who is a hypochondriac. If you don't know what that is here is the definition:  A Hypochondriac is someone with an excessive preoccupation with and worry about one's health.  Basically Izzy is a girl who is so obsessive about her health that it preoccupies all her time and everything she does. This is mainly because her mother actually suffers from a rare illness and it seems like the only way she is able to cope with it is by submerging herself in medical forums and searching up every tiny and even imaginative symptom she thinks she has. I found that to be quite funny. One time she would be talking to the guy she likes sitting on a sofa but she would also be thinking of how dirty that pillow is and maybe she shouldn't lean too far back because she might contract a rare fungus that would make her drop dead or something. I really enjoyed these scenes. However I didn't enjoy the whole romantic plot in this novel. It felt a bit too predictable and forced at times. This is a book where I feel that the omission of the romance actually benefits the novel.  I did enjoy some of the characters in The Symptoms of My Insanity, specifically Izzy's mom's Yiddish talk as well as Pam, who is Izzy's mom's best friend. I loved how caring Pam was and wished I got to see more of her. Izzy's best friend was a bit annoying at times, especially when she kept on piling work on Izzy even though she knows she's already preoccupied with her mother's sickness as well as getting ready to complete her art portfolio that is due. There is also Marcus, who is Jenna's brother and potential love interest. He was very charming in a goofy kind of way. At times I also didn't like Izzy's monologues.  I have to say that The Symptoms of My Insanity was a bit too long for such a plot and I hoped some parts were omitted. All in all it was enjoyable, especially the humorous parts of the novel. It was also heartwarming, especially the hospital scenes between Izzy, her sister, and her mom. I did have some issues with it, but it was a great contemporary novel.
Deidra_Simply_Books More than 1 year ago
A Debut Full of Wit and Laugh-Out-Loud Moments Ok from page one, I was laughing out loud. In fact, I was laughing so hard that I had to read the first couple of pages to my mom, who was also began laughing out loud. Possibly, many people wouldn't enjoy the book half as much as I do *I have seen a lot of 3-Star reviews*. Still, I found the book to be one of the funniest books I have read so far this year. Izzy is a sorta-hypochondriac, not that she recognizes it. She is constantly worrying about what is wrong with her. She is probably trying to avoid the fact that her mother has a rare form of cancer. Plus she is running out of time to create a kick-butt art portfolio. Her best friend really wants a huge chunk of her free time for the school musical. And as always, there is a boy, though all may not be what it seems. Maybe I am just a fan of snarky humor. Perhaps that's why I enjoyed the book as much as I did. I understand what it means to be clueless. I got Izzy. I really understood her crazy which is probably why I loved the book. Now granted, I'm not a hypochondriac. I probably don't worry enough about what's wrong with me. Still, when I've had people I loved get really sick, I wanted to do anything to make them better. And I definitely wasn't always able to see things right in front of my face during high school. Izzy may be quite the naive character, but it works. I will say that I kind of knew where some things were going, and it was like watching an upcoming train wreck. I wanted to scream at Izzy, but still I loved her. A lot of girls will understand what it's like to be Izzy when it comes to her new-found love life. And so many of us can relate to the high school issues she faces. The book is a bit overwhelming because Izzy is facing so much. I can understand who it may be too much for some people, but I just rolled with it. The Symptoms of My Insanity is full of laugh-out-loud moments, clever wit, and relatable characters that are easy to love. I sincerely recommend this book to any book lover who really enjoys contemporary and snarky humor and can handle the book drama. It's a pretty fabulous read!