The Ten Bodhisattva Grounds: The Avata?saka Sutra Chapter 26

The Ten Bodhisattva Grounds: The Avata?saka Sutra Chapter 26

Paperback(10th English / Sanskrit_paper ed.)

$20.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


”The Ten Bodhisattva Grounds” is an annotated English Translation by Bhikshu Dharmamitra of Tripitaka Master Śikṣānanda’s circa 699 ce Sanskrit-to-Chinese translation of the Avataṃsaka Sūtra, Chapter 26. This text describes in great detail the ten highest levels of bodhisattva practice on the path to buddhahood as taught in that sutra. This edition of the translation includes the P. L. Vaidya Sanskrit text. The Sanskrit section headings are inset in the English translation to facilitate easy correlation of the English translation with the Sanskrit text.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781935413127
Publisher: Kalavinka Press
Publication date: 10/30/2019
Series: Kalavinka Buddhist Classics
Edition description: 10th English / Sanskrit_paper ed.
Pages: 420
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.93(d)

About the Author

Tripitaka Master Śikṣānanda (652-710 ce) was a major translator of Buddhist texts into Chinese during the Tang Dynasty. This monk from Khotan is most remembered for his 699 ce translation of the 80-fascicle edition of the Avataṃsaka Sūtra.

Bhikshu Dharmamitra (ordination name "Heng Shou" - ) is a
Chinese-tradition translator-monk and one of the earliest American disciples (since 1968) of the late Guiyang Ch'an patriarch, Dharma teacher, and pioneer of Buddhism in the West, the Venerable Master
Hsuan Hua (). He has a total of 33 years in robes during two periods as a monastic (1969‒1975 & 1991 to the present).
Dharmamitra's principal educational foundations as a translator of Sino-Buddhist Classical Chinese lie in four years of intensive monastic training and Chinese-language study of classic Mahāyāna texts in a small-group setting under Master Hsuan Hua (1968-1972),
undergraduate Chinese language study at Portland State University,
a year of intensive one-on-one Classical Chinese study at the Fu Jen
University Language Center near Taipei, two years of course work at the University of Washington's Department of Asian Languages and Literature (1988-90), and an additional three years of auditing graduate courses and seminars in Classical Chinese readings, again at UW's Department of Asian Languages and Literature.
Since taking robes again under Master Hua in 1991, Dharmamitra has devoted his energies primarily to study and translation of classic Mahāyāna texts with a special interest in works by Ārya
Nāgārjuna and related authors. To date, he has translated more than fifteen important texts comprising approximately 150 fascicles,
including most recently the 80-fascicle Avataṃsaka Sūtra (the
"Flower Adornment Sutra"), Nāgārjuna's 17-fascicle Daśabhūmika
Vibhāśa ("Treatise on the Ten Grounds"), and the Daśabhūmika Sūtra
(the "Ten Grounds Sutra"), all of which are current or upcoming
Kalavinka Press publications.

Table of Contents

General Table of Contents

Acknowledgements 6

Outlining in This Work 6

List of Abbreviations 7

Directory to Chapter Subsections 11

The Translator’s Introduction 21

The Translation: The Ten Bodhisattva Grounds 29

Part 1 : The Joyfulness Ground 45

Part 2 : The Stainlessness Ground 69

Part 3 : The Shining Light Ground 83

Part 4 : The Blazing Brilliance Ground 97

Part 5 : The Difficult-to-Conquer Ground 108

Part 6 : The Direct Presence Ground 123

Part 7 : The Far-Reaching Ground 139

Part 8 : The Immovability Ground 155

Part 9 : The Excellent Intelligence Ground 175

Part 10: The Dharma Cloud Ground 195

Translation Endnotes 231

Bibliography 255

Appendix: The P.L. Vaidya Sanskrit Text 257

About the Translator 257

Kalavinka Buddhist Classics: Current Title List 259

Customer Reviews