The Ten Symbols of Longevity

The Ten Symbols of Longevity



Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


The Ten Symbols of Longevity by Charles Lachman

The ten symbols of longevity – rocks, water, clouds, sun, pine trees, turtles, deer, cranes, bamboo, and fungus – represent a ubiquitous theme in the Joseon-period (1392–1910) visual culture of Korea. This volume examines a large ten-panel foldingscreen landscape, created by an unknown court artist and intended for use in a Korean palace. Such screens of the ten symbols were often used in a ceremonial capacity for celebrations of the new year, palace banquets, and significant anniversaries.

This book provides an introduction to the ten-symbols theme in Korean art and a historical and critical context for a particular screen.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780295986579
Publisher: University of Washington Press
Publication date: 09/28/2006
Series: The Collection in Context
Pages: 56
Product dimensions: 9.00(w) x 12.00(h) x (d)
Age Range: 18 Years

Table of Contents


The University of Oregon's Ten Symbols of Longevity Screen (shipjangsaengdo)

Part I: The Ten Symbols of Longevity in Context1. Development of the Korean Collection2. The JSMA Ten Symbols of Longevity Screen3. The Ten Symbols of Minhwa (Folk Painting)4. The Uses and Meanings of the Ten Symbols

Part II: The Ten Longevity Symbols1. Pine Tree (sonamu)2. Sun (hae)3. Crane (hak)4. Water (mul)5. Mountains (san)6. Clouds (gureum)7. Deer (saseum)8. Turtles (geobuk)9. Mushrooms of Immortality (yeongji)10. Bamboo (daenamu)

NotesSelect Bibliography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews