The Terror of the Southlands (The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates Series #2)

The Terror of the Southlands (The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates Series #2)

Hardcover

$15.75 $16.99 Save 7% Current price is $15.75, Original price is $16.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Overview

More pirates, more magic, and more adventure in the second book of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series! Caroline Carlson brings the unceasing wit, humor, and fun of the first book in the series, Magic Marks the Spot, to this epic sequel. Fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society will love this quirky tween series and hope to join the VNHLP just like Hilary!

Hilary Westfield is now a bona fide pirate, but when her daring, her magical know-how, and even her gargoyle don’t convince the VNHLP that she’s worthy of her title, the Terror of the Southlands, she sets off with her crew on a High Seas adventure. But then Miss Pimm disappears and Hilary decides to find the missing Enchantress and protect the magic of Augusta.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062194367
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/09/2014
Series: Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates Series , #2
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 5.80(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Caroline Carlson is the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and The World's Greatest Detective. She holds an MFA in writing for children from Vermont College of Fine Arts and lives with her family in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. You can visit her online at www.carolinecarlsonbooks.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Terror of the Southlands 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This_Kid_Reviews_Books More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the “The Nearly Honorable League of Pirates” series. I enjoyed the first book, “Magic Marks the Spot”, very much. For all who like a moderate fantasy with the lure of daring pirates and and snarky High Society (rich people) families, this series is for you! Hilary is a daring girl who is crossing boundaries by being one of the first female pirates ever (and she’s good at it too!). Hilary is a good role model for young girls (except those in High Society, of course). She thinks cleverly and quickly. I especially like her companion, Gargoyle. He was always a source of humor to me. The action on this book never stops, and you can’t put the book down! I read this in 2 sittings (as in, I had to go to bed sometime… But then I finished it in the morning. :) )! Ms. Carlson is a marvelous author, and, after meting her, I determined she is a very nice lady. The book is very fun to read as well. There are letters, pages from newspapers, etc. (all fictional) from the characters (and their associates) between almost every chapter (if not all). Those were a great touch!
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Fun and Kidnapping with an Unlikely Pirate   Hilary Westfield is relishing her new life as the Terror of the Southlands.  Unfortunately, she hasn’t found much adventure in the last few months.  In fact, this has come to the attention of Captain Blacktooth, the president of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates.  He gives Hilary a warning and issues an ultimatum – do something piratical or be kicked out of the league.   Before Hilary can head off on one of her appointed quests, she finds a letter from Miss Pimm asking for assistance.  While Hilary left Miss Pimm’s Finishing School for Delicate Ladies without finishing, the two have become friends, so naturally she goes to help.  However, when she arrives, she learns that Miss Pimm has been kidnapped.  Can Hilary find her?  Will Blacktooth consider this piratical enough?   Since I loved the first book, I was looking forward to this one.  All the characters we loved from the first one are back, and we make some fun new friends as well.  The humor is back as well, especially in the between chapters letters and excerpts from other publications.  Unfortunately, the plot did drag a bit in the middle, but it livened up for a memorable finish that points to more trouble for Hilary to come.   With magic, pirates, and humor, this is a fun combination that kids will love.  Heck, I’m counting down the days to the next entry already myself.