The Terrorist Next Door: A David Gold Novel

The Terrorist Next Door: A David Gold Novel

by Sheldon Siegel
5.0 3

Paperback(Revised)

$13.72 $14.95 Save 8% Current price is $13.72, Original price is $14.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

The Terrorist Next Door: A David Gold Novel by Sheldon Siegel

Meet Detective David Gold. He's a third generation native of hardscrabble South Chicago. He's also one of Chicago's most decorated homicide detectives.
Meet Gold's new partner, Detective A.C. Battle. He's a native of Mississippi whose family moved to Chicago to escape the Jim Crow South. He grew up in the Robert Taylor Homes, the penal colony of high rises across the Dan Ryan Expressway from Mayor Daley's house and Comiskey Park.
Here's their first challenge. More than a decade after 9/11, someone is setting off fire bombs in Chicago using untraceable cell phones. An unknown group takes credit for the bombings and demands the release of Hassan Al-Shahid, a University of Chicago graduate student whose plan to set off a bomb at the Art Institute was thwarted at the last minute by Gold and his long-time partner, Paul Liszewski. Their heroic efforts had cost Liszewski his life and put Gold in the hospital.
Shocked and grieving, Gold rallies to receive a Medal of Valor on the steps of that same Art Institute. During the ceremony, a car bomb explodes across the street and moment later Gold receives a text: "It isn't over."
The FBI and Homeland Security believe the new bomber is a "lone wolf' –a freelancer who operates off the grid. That makes him even more dangerous. More car bombs are detonated at the Wrigley Field El station, Millennium Park, the Museum of Science and Industry, O'Hare Airport, the Hyde Park train station, and the upscale Rush Street area near North Michigan Avenue. The bomber has shut down a major US city. Just to free Al-Shahid?
Gold and Battle hunt him across Chicago's colorful neighborhoods: from the high rises of the Magnificent Mile to century-old churches where mass is still celebrated in Polish to the ivy-covered buildings at the University of Chicago to crumbling old synagogues and gritty seafood shacks next to the ghostly expanses of vacant land where the steel mills once stood. A third-generation native of Chicago's Southeast side, bestselling author Sheldon Siegel starts a new series with The Terrorist Next Door sure to appeal to readers of Michael Connelly, John Sandford, and Sara Paretsky.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781464201660
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication date: 07/02/2013
Series: David Gold Mysteries Series , #1
Edition description: Revised
Pages: 250
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Sheldon Siegel is the New York Times best selling author of seven critically acclaimed legal thrillers featuring San Franicsco criminal defense attorneys Mike Daley and Rosie Fernandez, two of the most beloved characters in contemporary crime fiction. A third-generation native of Chicago’s Southeast Side, Sheldon earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois in Champaign in 1980, and his law degree from Boalt Law School at the University of California-Berkeley in 1983. He has been in private practice in San Francisco since then, and he specializes in corporate and securities law with the San Francisco office of the international law firm of Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP.
 
Sheldon began writing his first book, Special Circumstances, on a laptop computer during his daily commute on the ferry from Marin County to San Francisco. A frequent speaker and sought-after teacher, Sheldon is a San Francisco Library Literary Laureate, a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern California Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and an active member of the International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. His work has been displayed at the Doe Library at the University of California at Berkeley, and he has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Illinois and a Northern California Super Lawyer. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is Sheldon’s first novel set in his hometown and featuring South Chicago homicide detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle. He is a lifelong fan of the Chicago Bears, White Sox, Bulls, and Blackhawks. He lives in the San Francisco area with his wife, Linda, and their twin sons, Alan and Stephen. He is currently working on his ninth novel. 

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Terrorist Next Door: A David Gold Novel 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
brennagm More than 1 year ago
Mr. Siegel's best book to date. I did not want to put it down until finished. Makes you wonder about those here in the US who want to do harm.
gloriafeit More than 1 year ago
In this new standalone by Sheldon Siegel, author of seven books in the Mike Daley/Rosie Fernandez series, the author has written a scarily, all-too-plausible tale of murder and mayhem in his one-time native city of Chicago. It is ninety degrees on the morning on which homicide detective David Gold is to receive the Medal of Valor for his part in averting a bombing at the town’s historic Art Institute (which his partner did not survive) when, just seconds after the ceremonies begin, a car bomb explodes just across the street, and Gold receives a text saying “It isn’t over.” It soon appears that the bomber’s aim, as he threatens more violence to come if his demands are not met, is the release of Hassan Al-Shahid, a 28-year old graduate student at the University of Chicago who had been born in Saudi Arabia, the man who is about to go on trial in three days for the foiled bombing a month earlier. Gold will not allow his partner’s murderer to go free. The FBI, Homeland Security and various other police units join the ensuing investigation, but Gold and his new partner, fifty-nine year old “ A.C.” (Aloysius Charles) Battle, take the lead. The only “clue” is that the bomber identifies himself as belonging to an apparently non-existent terror organization. But whoever he is, he leaves no clues. There is, of course, a media frenzy, headed up by Carol Modjeski at the local station, WGN (known to one and all as “Mojo”). The painstaking investigation proves futile, the only leads pointing to men of Middle Eastern descent and/or members of the Muslim community, but with no hard facts. The tale is interspersed with brief passages from the p.o.v. of the unidentified bomber, and as the bombings continue and it seems that things can’t get worse, they do just that. Inevitably, the city goes into lock-down. There are the usual racial tensions for which Chicago has been known, including reactions to a planned mosque, the announcement of which was greeted with less than a warm welcome, in a manner reminiscent of a mosque planned not long ago for the area of the World Trade Center in New York City, never completed after the ensuing furor. There are fascinating tidbits of Chicago history, some going back to the late 18th and early 21st century as well; affectionate references to what I assume are actual Chicago eateries; and some terrific asides about the beloved sports teams in the city: the Chicago Bears and the famous rivalry between the Cubs and the White Sox. All the action takes place in less than 36 hours. There is a delightful tip of the hat to Lee Child and his Jack Reacher series, which is appropriate, I think, as this book is as much an edge-of-your seat thriller as is typical of that author. The reader does not find out the identity of the terrorist until very near the end of the book, the suspense rising as the pages quickly turn. This is a fast-paced, terrific book from Mr. Siegel, and it is highly recommended.
Golfer1 More than 1 year ago
This novel Sheldon Siegel takes us away from San Francisco to Chicago. He's obviously at home in both locales. This book departs from Siegel's previous novels of two fascinating San Francisco attorneys solving mysteries to a new character, Detective David Gold, who is all Chicago. He's fighting terrorists and the perps are next door. Enjoyed immensely, as I do all Siegel's work.