The Test of Fire: A Sword and Sorcery Novel from the Lands of Hope

The Test of Fire: A Sword and Sorcery Novel from the Lands of Hope

by William L. Hahn


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


"Hahn masterfully interweaves story threads reminiscent of Tolkien, Stephen Donaldson, or GRR Martin with evocative prose. A must read for fans of epic adventurous fantasy." Katharina Gerlach, author

The books in this trilogy can be read in any order. The numbering only refers to the chronological order of events.

Sir Querlak isn't your normal nobleman, but he's dedicated and determined, not only to survive but to bring a golden age to his foef, no matter how many obstacles his swamp ridden foef is throwing at him. How can a young knight find justice and peace while surrounded by ruin and fighting to survive?

In 2002 ADR, the Empire of Argens is still reeling from the usurpation of its centuries-old throne by a ferocious dwarven warrior named Yula and his sorcerous human allies. Not only did they defeat the flower of elvish knighthood, but they exposed the former dynasty as demons in disguise.

When Qerlak lays aside the adventuring life to purchase a knighthood, none of his fellow nobles believe he will succeed. A castle close to ruin, lands nearly abandoned and the surrounding swamps swarming with aggressive Reptile Men, human-sized bugs and other dangerous creatures. Now a greedy neighbor plots an invasion from the eastern hills. By the code of the nobility he wants to join, Qerlak is doomed.

Sir Qerlak can neither ride a horse nor use a lance, and has little more than his courage and love for his people with which to defend this mysterious, exotic foef. Outnumbered, outmaneuvered and out of time, he must face monsters and foes while piecing together forgotten ancient customs and recent chance-met allies. This quest will stretch his strength and subject them all to ... The Test of Fire.

This book is the sequel to "The Plane of Dreams" and part of a trilogy of loosely connected stand-alone novels set in the Lands of Hope.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9783956811302
Publisher: Independent Bookworm
Publication date: 07/26/2019
Series: Tales of the Tributarians , #2
Pages: 358
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.74(d)

Customer Reviews