The Tolls of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 17): A riveting and gritty medieval mystery

The Tolls of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 17): A riveting and gritty medieval mystery

by Michael Jecks

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Tolls of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 17): A riveting and gritty medieval mystery by Michael Jecks

Detained in a Cornish village, can Sir Baldwin and Simon discover who is behind a series of devastating attacks?

Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock's seventeenth mystery, The Toll of Death, is a compelling tale of evil and darkness, from much-loved medieval adventure writer, Michael Jecks. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Ellis Peters.

'If you care for a well-researched visit to medieval England, don't pass this series' - Historical Novels Review

Summer 1323: in the Cornish village of Cardinham, a penniless young woman is found hanged alongside the dead bodies of her children. Passing through the village on the final leg of their long journey home, friends Sir Baldwin de Furnshill and Bailiff Simon Puttock are detained and tasked with leading the investigation.

Simon and Baldwin quickly discover the young woman's death is not an isolated incident. And as the escape of a traitor threatens to embroil the country in a new civil war, they must look beyond friendships and family loyalties to find an evil killer - and secure the safety of Cardinham, and all who dwell there.

What readers are saying about The Tolls of Death:

'[A] gripping story of murder and suspense'

'Thoroughly recommend this for anyone who is interested in medieval times - the background, as always, is authentic and the fictional characters so believable'

'Five stars'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472219787
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 02/27/2014
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 246,496
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Michael Jecks gave up a career in the computer industry to concentrate on writing and the study of medieval history, especially that of Devon and Cornwall. He lives with his family in northern Dartmoor.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Tolls of Death (Knights Templar Mysteries 17): A riveting and gritty medieval mystery 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the way to the near end, I kept guessing. Sir Baldwin & Simon find themselves in another situation where their 'Sherlock skills' are put to test. I'm loving this series, and now on to book 4. Sandi /MT