Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Trouble with Good Ideas

The Trouble with Good Ideas

by Amanda Panitch

Hardcover

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8

Overview

From author Amanda Panitch comes The Trouble with Good Ideas, a hilarious middle-grade novel with a magical twist about a girl, a golem, and her ailing grandfather, perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish.

Twelve-year old Leah Nevins is NOT a fan of change.

So when her parents start whispering about sending her beloved Jewish great-grandpa Zaide to an assisted living facility (hospital jail!), she is very resistant. Zaide’s house, where her family gathers on Saturday afternoons, is the only place where Leah feels like she truly belongs. Sending Zaide away would change everything.

Luckily, Leah remembers a story Zaide once told her about building a golem—a creature from Jewish mythology made out of clay—to protect their family from the Nazis in Poland. So, of course, Leah decides to make a golem of her own to look after Zaide. The directions he gave her were pretty easy to follow, but there is one thing he never told her: what to do when a golem turns against its creator.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250245106
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication date: 01/05/2021
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 1,066,213
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 700L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Amanda Panitch spent most of her childhood telling stories to her four younger siblings, trying both to make them laugh and scare them too much to sleep. Now she lives in New York City, where she writes dark, funny stories for teens, kids, and the pigeons that nest on her apartment balcony.

Customer Reviews