The Underground Lady

The Underground Lady

by JC Simmons
4.0 1

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Underground Lady by JC Simmons

This is the COMPLETE EDITION of "The Underground Lady (Book 8 of the Jay Leicester Mysteries Series)" by critically acclaimed southern author JC Simmons:

A small airplane mysteriously disappears in the dense piney woods of Mississippi. The pilot, a young widow named Hadley Welch is the lone occupant. Now, 25 years later, her daughter hires Aviation Consultant, Jay Leicester, to investigate. Jealously, revenge, and murder with colorful and deadly characters, all heading toward one climatic question: What happened to Hadley Welch and her airplane?

Twenty-five years ago, in the Deep South, a small airplane mysteriously disappears in the dense piney woods of Mississippi. The pilot, a young widow named Hadley Welch, who owns and runs a worldwide privately held pharmaceutical company is the lone occupant. Now, her daughter, after receiving an anonymous tip about her mother's disappearance, hires Aviation Consultant and Private Investigator Jay Leicester to investigate.

Leicester agrees to take the case only after learning that not only did the missing woman used to own the land where his cottage now sits, but that she took off from a grass runway now part of his farm and, may in fact, have crashed on his land. Soon after making inquiries into the missing aircraft and pilot, Jay Leicester's life is threatened, his neighbor's are threatened, and the missing woman's daughter is threatened.

Jealousy, revenge, and murder set in rural Mississippi with colorful characters, and deadly characters, all heading toward one climatic question: What happened to Hadley Welch and her airplane twenty-five years ago make this a must-read for any aficionado of the Mystery/Thriller genre.

There are 10 ebooks in the Jay Leicester Mysteries Series by JC Simmons:

Blood on the Vine
Some People Die Quick
Blind Overlook
Icy Blue Descent
The Electra File
Popping the Shine
Four Nines Fine
The Underground Lady
Akel Dama
The Candela of Cancri

Product Details

BN ID: 2940033057009
Publisher: JC Simmons
Publication date: 01/29/2012
Series: Jay Leicester Mysteries , #8
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 545,364
File size: 331 KB

About the Author

JC Simmons is the author of an Ernest Hemingway biography, several short stories and ten critically acclaimed serial mystery novels, known as the "Jay Leicester Mysteries Series". Included in the series are: Blood On The Vine, Some People Die Quick, Blind Overlook, Icy Blue Descent, The Electra File, Popping the Shine, Four Nines Fine, The Underground Lady, Akel Dama, and The Candela of Cancri, all of which have been recently re-released as ebooks by Nighttime Press LLC. From the Author's mouth: My flying career and writing in general was inspired by a single book titled, Fate is the Hunter, by Ernest K. Gann. Writing specifically as a style was manifest due to a single book titled, Ernest Hemingway: A Life Story, by Carlos Baker, Hemingway’s official biographer. A friend and Emergency Room doctor, Edgar Grissom, who would later publish the definitive bibliography on Hemingway, Ernest Hemingway: A Descriptive Bibliography, loaned me his copy of Baker’s bio one summer back in the early 70s. The rest, as they say, is history. During the next few years, I read everything by and about Hemingway. Never has a writer influenced me more. My first foray into the world of letters was to be about Hemingway. John Evans, owner of Lemuria Books, and my mentor in all things literati, pointed out that there were literally hundreds of bios on Hemingway. However, a scholarly study on the man and his work had never been done in a Q&A format. So was born the “Workbook.” Evans, Grissom, Evan’s store manager, Tom Gerald and his assistant Valerie Sims, all collaborated on the manuscript. It took two years to finish. I learned much on the journey. It was from this endeavor with the Hemingway bio that emerged the Jay Leicester Murder/Mystery series. Even the name Leicester came from Hemingway’s brother, who also published a bio, My Brother Ernest Hemingway, in 1961. Hemingway once said he “learned to write landscapes by looking at the paintings of Cezanne in the Louvre in Paris,” and “that it’s not how much one puts into a book, but what the writer leaves out that makes the story.” From him I learned how to write true dialogue, and how to add the sights, sounds, and smells so that the reader feels he is there. While I did not try and copy his style, thousands have tried and failed, I did take what he offered and used it well, I hope. You the reader will make that determination. J.C. Simmons was born, raised, educated, and stayed in the great State of Mississippi. He is a retired Airline/Corporate pilot and lives with his wife on the family farm in Union, Mississippi where he is working on a autobiographical work detailing his life and times as a pilot.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Underground Lady 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago