The Underwater Ballroom Society

The Underwater Ballroom Society

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155190578
Publisher: Y S Lee
Publication date: 04/30/2018
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 250,302
File size: 481 KB

About the Author

Y. S. Lee was born in Singapore, raised in Vancouver and Toronto, and lived for a spell in England. She earned a Ph.D. in Victorian literature and culture from Queen’s University and now lives in Kingston, Ontario. Ying’s debut novel, The Agency: A Spy in the House, is about a mixed-race girl detective in Victorian London. It won the Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s inaugural John Spray Mystery Award in 2011. The Agency tetralogy continues with The Body at the Tower, The Traitor and the Tunnel, and Rivals in the City (Candlewick Press/Walker Books).

Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but now she lives in Wales with her husband (fellow writer and ebook cover designer Patrick Samphire), their two sons, and their crazy-sweet border collie mix. Her first historical fantasy novel for adults, MASKS AND SHADOWS, was published by Pyr Books in April 2016, and her second, CONGRESS OF SECRETS, will be published in November 2016. She is also the author of a trilogy of funny Regency-era fantasy novels for ages ten and up, published by Atheneum Books in the US and Templar Books in the UK, and a new MG series to be published in both countries by Bloomsbury, beginning with THE DRAGON WITH A CHOCOLATE HEART (2017). The first book in her Regency fantasy trilogy, KAT, INCORRIGIBLE, was selected for Bankstreet's Best Books of 2012 list and won the Waverton Good Read Children's Award in the UK (under its British title, A MOST IMPROPER MAGICK).

Tiffany Trent is the author of the young adult dark fantasy Hallowmere series (Wizards of the Coast/Mirrorstone) and The Unnaturalists duology (Simon & Schuster/Saga). She has published numerous short stories in anthologies like Wilful Impropriety, Clockwork Cairo, Corsets & Clockwork, and After the Fall. She is co-editor with Stephanie Burgis of The Underwater Ballroom Society. When not writing, she is gardening or playing with bees.

Ysabeau S. Wilce was born in California and has followed the drum through Spain and most of its North American colonies. Trained as a historian, she lapsed into fabrication when facts no longer compared favorably to the shining lies of her imagination. She is a graduate of Clarion West and has been nominated for the World Fantasy Award, the James Tiptree Award, and won the Andre Norton Award for the second volume in her Flora Fyrdraaca series, FLORA’S DARE. Her short fiction has appeared in Asimov’s, F&SF Magazine, several Year’s Best Anthologies, as well as anthologies edited by Ellen Datlow & Gardner Dozois. Her most recent work, a collection of short stories entitled PROPHECIES, LIBELS & DREAMS, was published by Small Beer Press in 2014. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and is very fond of dogs and mules.

Shveta Thakrar is a writer of South Asian–flavored fantasy, social justice activist, and part-time nagini. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Flash Fiction Online, Interfictions Online, Mythic Delirium, Uncanny, Faerie, Strange Horizons, Mothership Zeta, Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories, Clockwork Phoenix 5, Beyond the Woods: Fairy Tales Retold, A Thousand Beginnings and Endings, and Toil & Trouble. When not spinning stories about spider silk and shadows, magic and marauders, and courageous girls illuminated by dancing rainbow flames, Shveta crafts, devours books, daydreams, draws, travels, bakes, and occasionally even plays her harp.

Dinosaur hunter. Accidental archeologist. Armchair adventurer. Some of these things may not be true about Patrick Samphire. What is true is that Patrick is the author of extremely exciting and occasionally funny books for middle grade readers, and of more serious and magical short stories for adults. His first novel, Secrets of the Dragon Tomb, was published by Henry Holt / Macmillan on January 12, 2016. His second novel, The Emperor of Mars, will be published in 2017. He’s also a web and ebook designer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews