Pub. Date:
Oxford University Press
The Unfinished Journey: America Since World War II / Edition 8

The Unfinished Journey: America Since World War II / Edition 8

by William H. Chafe


View All Available Formats & Editions
Current price is , Original price is $59.95. You
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
  • purchase options

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780199347995
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 07/15/2014
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 672
Sales rank: 241,978
Product dimensions: 9.10(w) x 6.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

William H. Chafe is Alice Mary Baldwin Professor of History at Duke University. He is the author or coeditor of several books, including A History of Our Time: Readings on Postwar America, Eighth Edition (OUP, 2011) and The Rise and Fall of the American Century: The United States from 1890-2009 (OUP, 2009). He is a former president of the Organization of American Historians and his books have been recognized with the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award (1981), the Sidney Hillman Book Award (1994), and the Lillian Smith Book Award (2003).

Table of Contents

1. The War Years
2. Origins of the Cold War
3. Truman and the Cold War
4. "The Other Half of the Walnut"
Social Reform and Activism in the Postwar Years
5. The Paradox of Change
American Society in the Postwar Years
6. The Civil Rights Movement
"The Gods Bring Threads to Webs Begun"
7. John F. Kennedy
The Reality and the Myth
8. LBJ
The Trial of Consensus
9. Vietnam-The Early Years
10. "Lyndon's War"
11. Coming Apart at Home
12. 1968
13. "Bringing Us Together"
14. An Era of Political Malaise
15. A Divided Culture, a Divided Society
16. The Reagan Years
17. The 1990s
A Referendum on the Post-World War II Years
18. 2000 and Beyond
19. Barack Obama
A Utopian Vision Confronts Political Reality
Bibliographical Essay

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews