The Very Best of Dave Grusin

The Very Best of Dave Grusin

by Dave Grusin



Except for the unfortunate oversight of any of the spectacular material from Grusin's soundtrack to The Fabulous Baker Boys, this 11-track compilation is a strong addition to GRP's new collector's series featuring many of its classic artists. Grusin, of course, has the unique distinction of having owned the label and has been part of its establishment as a modern jazz powerhouse. The songs cover the 20-year period from 1977 through 1997, from the time just before he and Larry Rosen formed the company through Grusin's lush homage to chief influence Henry Mancini (represented here by the marching beat and brassy humor of "Baby Elephant Walk" and the boogie-woogie twist on "The Peter Gunn Theme"). When Grusin and Rosen compiled and sequenced this collection, they were more interested in finding outstanding representative tracks than simply spotlighting Grusin's best compositions. That's somewhat curious, since Grusin is legendary as both a jazz and film composer, but two of his best-received projects were The Gershwin Connection and Homage to Duke, so the Gershwin boys and Ellington's songs are an essential part of the mix. Grusin-written classics include the mystical and exotic synth exercise "Bossa Baroque" and the still spry "Early A.M. Attitude" from Harlequin, his Grammy-winning collaboration with Lee Ritenour.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2002
Label: Imports
UPC: 0731458928027
catalogNumber: 5002811

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Grusin   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Percussion,Piano,Conductor,Keyboards,fairlight,fender rhodes,DX-7,Mini Moog,Oberheim Obxa
Brian Bromberg   Bass
Gary Burton   Vibes
Ron Carter   Acoustic Bass
Omar Hakim   Drums
Steve Kujala   Flute,Alto Flute
John Patitucci   Bass
Tom Scott   Saxophone
Ronnie Lang   Flute
Russell Malone   Guitar
Sal Marquez   Trumpet
Noel Pointer   Strings
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion
David Davis   Strings
Richard Todd   French Horn
Seymour Barab   Strings
Rubens Bassini   Percussion
Francisco Centeno   Electric Bass
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Peter Dimitriades   Strings
Lewis Eley   Strings
Michael Fisher   Percussion
Steve Gadd   Drums
Paul Gershman   Strings,Concert Master
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Dan Higgins   Saxophone
Max Hollander   Strings
Regis Iandiorio   Strings
Theodore Israel   Strings
Branford Marsalis   Soprano Saxophone
Eric Marienthal   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Andy Martin   Trombone
Harvey Mason   Drums
Richard Maximoff   Strings
Marcus Miller   Bass
Marvin Morgenstern   Strings
Tollak Ollestad   Harmonica
Lee Ritenour   Guitar
Carlos Vega   Drums
Grover Washington   Soprano Saxophone
Dave Weckl   Drums
Ralph Oxman   Strings
Paul Winter Consort   Strings
Daniel Elliott   Mellophonium,Background Vocals
David Duke   French Horn
Jimmy Johnson   Bass
Brian O'Connor   French Horn

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Dave Grusin   Arranger,Composer,Producer,drum programming
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Tommy LiPuma   Producer
Lee Ritenour   Arranger,Producer
Larry Rosen   Producer,Liner Notes
Hollis King   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews