Pub. Date:
The Very Best of the Spinners [Rhino]

The Very Best of the Spinners [Rhino]

by The SpinnersThe Spinners


$9.99 $12.99 Save 23% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 23%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


The Spinners were rivaled only by the O'Jays as the greatest Philly soul group, and for that matter the greatest vocal group of the '70s. For listeners who don't want to dig as deeply as the excellent double-CD anthology One of a Kind Love Affair, Rhino's The Very Best of the Spinners is a stellar single-disc career summary that offers a concentrated dose of the group's sweet soul magic. It also serves as a primer on the best work of Thom Bell, Philly soul's "other" great producer besides the legendary Gamble & Huff team. Incredibly, every one of the 16 tracks here -- culled from 1970-1980 -- reached the R&B Top Ten, and half went all the way to number one on either the pop or R&B lists. As this collection demonstrates, the Spinners' massive popularity was well-deserved. Built around the magnetic leads of Philippe Wynne, their records were tastefully, elegantly romantic, full of adult heartache and longings as complex as the group's shifting harmonies. The compilers also license the pre-Wynne Motown hit "It's a Shame," co-written by Stevie Wonder, and include two disco-tinged medleys that returned the Spinners to the Top Ten for the last time at the close of the '70s. But the Wynne material is really the backbone of their output, and Thom Bell's gorgeous production frames his voice with just the right amount of sweetness. There's more to discover on One of a Kind Love Affair, but The Very Best of the Spinners is so solid from top to bottom that it's hard to argue with; one or the other is a necessary purchase for anyone even remotely interested in '70s soul.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/1993
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227121327
catalogNumber: 71213
Rank: 4765


  1. It's a Shame
  2. I'll Be Around
  3. How Could I Let You Get Away
  4. Could It Be I'm Falling in Love
  5. One of a Kind (Love Affair)
  6. Ghetto Child
  7. Mighty Love, Pt. 1
  8. I'm Coming Home
  9. Then Came You
  10. Love Don't Love Nobody, Pt. 1
  11. Living a Little, Laughing a Little
  12. Sadie
  13. They Just Can't Stop It (The Games People Play)
  14. The Rubberband Man
  15. Working My Way Back to You/Forgive Me, Girl
  16. Cupid/I've Loved You for a Long Time

Album Credits

Customer Reviews