The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

by Kate Hattemer
5.0 2

Hardcover

$11.11 $16.99 Save 35% Current price is $11.11, Original price is $16.99. You Save 35%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 23 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer

Whip-smart dialogue and an inside look at the seedy underbelly of reality TV come together in this critically-acclaimed debut perfect for fans of Unreal, John Green, and Frank Portman.

 
Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students at Selwyn Arts Academy, which has been hijacked by For Art’s Sake, a sleazy reality-television show. In the tradition of Ezra Pound, the foursome secretly writes and distributes a long poem to protest the show. They’re thrilled to have started a budding rebellion.
 
But the forces behind the show are craftier than they seem. The web of betrayal stretches farther than Ethan could have ever imagined, and it’s up to him, his friends, and a heroic gerbil named Baconnaise to save Selwyn.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385753784
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 04/08/2014
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 424,238
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)
Lexile: HL590L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kate Hattemer taught high school Latin for three years and now works at an independent bookstore in Cincinnati. She delivered an epic poem at her university graduation ceremony, and is also the author of The Land of 10,000 Madonnas. Learn more about Kate and her books at KateHattemer.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Even the minor characters have depth. It has a balance of comedy, drama, and heartbreak that reminds me of a John Green novel. The narrator tries so hard to be self-aware -- and it's really funny to be reading his words, realizing that he can tell us what is going on while he still often really doesn't have a clue. I laughed out loud multiple times while reading this book, but -- without spoiling the ending -- it's not one of those books where everything gets tied up in neat little ribbons at the end. The narrator very much stays in character, and even in epilogue, he can only tell us about things within his scope of knowledge -- and within his limited awareness. The other thing I really liked about this book is that it inspired me to try harder. There is a recurring refrain about not wanting to get to the end of your life and say "I should have been able to do better." It applies (and is applied here) to big things, but it applies to little things as well. Two of the characters have a conversation about drawing -- and one points out that people say they can't draw, but often they never really tried. They were crappy at it in third grade and gave up. This book makes me want to try harder, so I don't get to the end of my life and say "I should have been able to do better." I read it a week ago, and I'm still carrying that feeling with me. Pretty amazing for a novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So amazingly written and proportioned. Had no complaints reading this book!