The Village [429]

The Village [429]


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Village [429]

With The Village, modern day artists look back and pay tribute to the artists and songs that helped nurture and shape them as successful musicians in their own right. Shelby Lynne gives a musical shout-out to Dylan with her version of “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright,” Cowboy Junkies perform their heartbreaking version of Tim Buckley’s “Once I Was” and Bruce Hornsby checks in with a stunning version of The Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Darlin’ Be Home Soon.” The Village also features performances by Rickie Lee Jones, Lucinda Williams, Rachael Yamagata, Amos Lee, Sixpence None the Richer, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Rocco DeLuca, John Oates, The Duhks, and Los Lobos.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/03/2009
Label: 429 Records
UPC: 0795041777324
catalogNumber: 17773

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shelby Lynne   Guitar,Vocals
Rickie Lee Jones   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Whistle
Lucinda Williams   Vocals
Rob Wasserman   Bass
Kevin Salem   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar
Alan Anton   Bass
Steve Berlin   Keyboards
Mary Chapin Carpenter   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Don Heffington   Drums
David Hidalgo   Guitar,Vocals
John Jennings   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Electric Guitar
Jay Joyce   fender rhodes
Conrad Lozano   Bass
Val McCallum   Guitar
John Oates   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Cesar Rosas   Guitar,Vocals
Eric Schermerhorn   Guitar
David Sutton   Bass
Margo Timmins   Vocals
Michael Timmins   Guitar
Peter Timmins   Drums
Drew Emmitt   Mandolin
Louie Pérez   Guitar,Vocals
Oliver Kraus   Strings
Fred Berman   Drums
Tania Elizabeth   Fiddle
Matt Slocum   Guitar
Michael Bellar   Keyboards
Butch Norton   Drums
Leigh Nash   Vocals
Cougar Estrada   Drums
Christopher Joyner   Organ
Noel Webb   Piano
Will Sayles   Drums
Rachael Yamagata   Piano,Tambourine,Vocals,Shaker
Sarah Dugas   Vocals
Jordan McConnell   Acoustic Guitar
Leonard Podolak   Banjo
Amos Lee   Guitar,Vocals
Jaron Olevsky   Bass
Christian Dugas   Percussion,Background Vocals
Rocco Deluca & the Burden   Vocals,Guitar (Resonator)
Chris Giraldi   Drums
John Michel   Percussion

Technical Credits

Shelby Lynne   Producer
Eric Andersen   Composer
Fred Neil   Composer
Tim Buckley   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Bruce Hornsby   Producer
Rickie Lee Jones   Producer
Joni Mitchell   Composer
John Sebastian   Composer
Kevin Salem   Producer,Engineer
Mary Chapin Carpenter   Producer
David Hidalgo   Arranger
John Jennings   Producer,Engineer
Jay Joyce   Producer,Engineer
Lobos   Producer
John Oates   Producer
Cesar Rosas   Engineer
Michael Timmins   Producer,Engineer
Eric Liljestrand   Producer
Louie Pérez   Arranger
Oliver Kraus   Arranger
Sheldon Gomberg   Engineer
Tom Overby   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Jason Hall   Engineer
Ryan Moys   Engineer
Jamie Rosenberg   Producer,Engineer
Amos Lee   Producer
Norman Dugas   Producer
Rocco Deluca & the Burden   Producer
Adam Samuels   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Village [429] 1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of the folk music of the 60's and the later folk/rock gendre. I also have 90% of everything every recorded by Dylan. I bought this CD because I thought it might be interesting to listen to some contempory covers of the 60's songs. With a few minor exceptions the music on this CD is horrible. Even Dylan at his worst could not butcher his music as thoughly as those on this CD. The samples of the tracks do not portray how bad each song gets after 2+ minutes into the cut.