The War and Postwar Years

The War and Postwar Years

by George Formby


$26.35 $28.99 Save 9% Current price is $26.35, Original price is $28.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


The War and Postwar Years

Although George Formby's biggest hits were associated with his pre-World War II work, one can say with some justification that his efforts at entertaining the troops and the Britons on the home front were truly his finest hour -- and as this four-CD set demonstrates, they weren't bad years musically, either. If the songs are sometimes a tiny bit uneven in quality or the formula seems a little flat on a track or two, one can chalk that up to the necessities of war; it's only in relation to his earlier work that some of the material here may seem slightly off. As it is, the material here gives one a perspective on the progress of the war that one won't find anywhere else in entertainment -- from "Imagine Me in the Maginot Line" at the outset of the fighting in France to the later material referring to the Blitz and the arrival of the Americans in England -- and, in fact, a better one than could have been had at the time. The material has been cleaned up to the point where the sound quality is impeccable on virtually all of it. How one feels about Formby is a question for the individual, but he was a consummate performer, whether he was doing some bawdy novelty tune or a ballad, and his virtues are much in evidence throughout. His postwar work was more limited in scope and depth, although he still had the ability to delight an audience, whether it was doing a parody of the "Third Man Theme" called "Come Hither with Your Zither" or the songs from the musical Zip Goes a Million. The set concludes with an array of alternate takes of Formby material going back to the 1930s. The annotation is thorough and also as polished as the sound, and the entire package will prove a delight even to casual fans who may well not know any of this material as well as his classic prewar material.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2006
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065190224
catalogNumber: 1902
Rank: 265963


Disc 1

  1. Swinging Along
  2. A Lad from Lancashire
  3. The Lancashire Romeo
  4. Imagine Me in the Maginot Line
  5. Grandad's Flannelette Nightshirt
  6. Mr Wu's a Window Cleaner Now
  7. Count Your Blessings and Smile
  8. Oh! Don't the Wind Blow Cold?
  9. You've Got Something There
  10. I Always Get to Bed by Hald-Past Nine
  11. On the Wigan Boat Express
  12. Down the Old Coal Hole
  13. I'm the Ukelele Man
  14. On the Beat
  15. Letting the New Year In
  16. Bless 'Em All
  17. Guarding the Home of the Home Guards
  18. I Wish I Was Back on the Farm
  19. Formby Favourites for the Forces, Pts. 1 & 2
  20. Thanks, Mr Roosevelt
  21. Bless 'Em All, Pt. 2

Disc 2

  1. It Might Have Been a Great Deal Worse
  2. You've Be Far Better off in a Home
  3. I Did What I Could with My Gas Mask
  4. Delivering the Morning Milk
  5. The Emperor of Lancashire
  6. You Can't Go Wrong in These
  7. Auntie Maggie's Remedy
  8. You're Everything to Me
  9. I'd Do It with a Smile
  10. The Left-Hand Side of Egypt
  11. Who Are You A-Shoving Of?
  12. The Barmaid at the Rose and Crown
  13. I Played on My Spanish Guitar
  14. Swing Mama
  15. George Formby's Crazy Record, Pts. 1 & 2
  16. Formby Film Favourites, Pts. 1 & 2
  17. Katy Did, Katy Didn't
  18. Frank on His Tank
  19. Smile All the Time
  20. Out in the Middle East

Disc 3

  1. Andy the Handy Man
  2. They Laughed When I Started to Play
  3. Talking to the Moon About You
  4. Got to Get Your Photo in the Press
  5. Mr Wu's an Air Raid Warden Now
  6. Sally the Salvage Queen
  7. Thirty Thirsty Sailors
  8. Hold Your Hats On
  9. The Cook House Serenade
  10. You Can't Love Two Girls at the Same Time
  11. Under the Blasted Oak
  12. When the Lads of the Village Get Crackin'
  13. When the Waterworks Caught Fire
  14. The Baby Show
  15. Home Guard Blues
  16. Oh! You Have No Idea
  17. Spotting on Top of Blackpool Tower
  18. Sentimental Lou
  19. British Isles Medley
  20. American Medley
  21. On the HMS Cowheel
  22. Bunty's Such a Big Girl Now

Disc 4

  1. It Serves You Right (You Shouldn't Have Joined)
  2. If I Had a Girl Like You
  3. Swim, Little Fish
  4. Bell Bottom George
  5. The 'V' Sign Song
  6. The Old Cane Bottom Chair
  7. Our Fanny's Gone All Yankee
  8. Unconditional Surrender
  9. Blackpool Prom
  10. Mr Wu's in the Air Force
  11. The Darling Young Man
  12. I'd Like a Dream Like That
  13. She's Got Two of Everything
  14. Up in the Air and Down in the Dumps
  15. Excerpt from 'Get Cracking'
  16. You Don't Need a License for That
  17. The Mad March Hare
  18. It Could Be
  19. We've Been a Long Time Gone
  20. Auntie Maggie's Remedy
  21. Leaning on a Lamp Post
  22. When I'm Cleaning Windows
  23. Come Hither with Your Zither

Disc 5

  1. Saving Up for Sally
  2. Pleasure Cruise
  3. Ordinary People
  4. Zip Goes a Million
  5. It Takes No Time to Fall in Love
  6. Nothing Breaks But the Heart
  7. Do de O Do
  8. Chineselaundryblues
  9. Baby
  10. You Can't Keep a Growing Lad Down
  11. You Can't Keep a Growing Lad Down
  12. It's No Use Looking at Me
  13. John Willie's Jazz Band
  14. There's Nothing Proud About Me
  15. Madame Moscovitch
  16. Sitting on the Sands All Night
  17. Dare-Devil Dick
  18. The Ghost
  19. Mother, What'll I Do Now?
  20. Hitting the High Spots
  21. Under the Blasted Oak
  22. Oh! You Have No Idea
  23. The 'V' Sign Song

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews