Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
The White House Sessions: Live 1962

The White House Sessions: Live 1962


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 26


Since both were performing their own sets at the White House Seminar American Jazz Concert on the Sylvan Theater grounds on August 28, 1962, Tony Bennett and Dave Brubeck decided to perform an impromptu collaborative set together that day, and although one song from it was eventually released, a version of "That Old Black Magic," the rest of the hour-or-so-long tape ended up lost in the vast Sony catalog vault, filed, as it turned out, with several classical tapes, until it surfaced again shortly after Brubeck's death in 2012. Now finally available, it reveals two master performers at the very top of their respective games. Bennett's signature song, "I Left My Heart in San Francisco," had been released only a couple of weeks before the concert, while Brubeck's "Take Five" had just begun to take on its iconic significance. Brubeck and his quartet, Paul Desmond on alto sax, Eugene Wright on bass, and Joe Morello on drums, played a four-song set, followed by a six-song set from Bennett and his band, with Ralph Sharon on piano, Hal Gaylor on bass, and Billy Exiner on drums. Then came an unrehearsed and impromptu four-song set from Bennett and Brubeck, with Wright on bass and Morello on drums (alto saxophonist Desmond sat out) that included versions of "That Old Black Magic" (the only track previously released before this), "Lullaby of Broadway," "Chicago (That Toddlin' Town)," and "There Will Never Be Another You," each of which purveys a loose, fun elegance that makes this archival find a true treasure. Bennett and Brubeck would not perform together again until both appeared and briefly reunited on-stage at the 2009 Newport Jazz Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2013
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888837180429
catalogNumber: 371804
Rank: 34055


  1. Introduction
  2. Take Five
  3. Band Introduction
  4. Nomad
  5. Thank You
  6. Castilian Blues
  7. Introduction
  8. Just In Time
  9. Small World
  10. Make Someone Happy
  11. Rags To Riches
  12. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
  13. I Left My Heart In San Francisco
  14. Lullaby Of Broadway
  15. Chicago (That Toddlin' Town)
  16. That Old Black Magic
  17. There Will Never Be Another You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tony Bennett   Primary Artist
Dave Brubeck   Primary Artist,Piano
Dave Brubeck Trio   Primary Artist
Paul Desmond   Alto Saxophone
Joe Morello   Drums
Ralph Sharon   Piano
Eugene Wright   Bass
Hal Gaylor   Bass
Billy Exiner   Drums

Technical Credits

Dave Brubeck   Composer
Paul Desmond   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Ted Gioia   Liner Notes
Danny Bennett   Executive Producer
Dubin   Composer
Russell Gloyd   Executive Producer
Jule Styne   Composer
Frank Bruno   Engineer
Anthony Janek   Engineer
Don Hunstein   Photo Courtesy
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
R. Adler   Composer
A. Green   Composer

Customer Reviews