The Who In the City

The Who In the City

by Ian Snowball


$18.82 $20.91 Save 10% Current price is $18.82, Original price is $20.91. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20


The Who: In The City is an exciting new book that has never been attempted before. The book tells the unique story of one of rock and rolls greatest bands and their personal history with the city of London. All four original members of The Who were born and grew up in London and this book documents the facts and figures of this time and then adds to the story further by taking the reader on an amazing journey through all of the bands London concerts and gigs across a fifty year period. The story is further brought to life with contributions from friends and fans of the band and these include Kenney Jones (Small Faces and The Who), Jim McCarty (The Yardbirds), Steve White (The Style Council/Paul Weller) and Peter 'Dougal' Butler (Keith Moon's PA). The book also includes other London places of Who related interest, such as their hang-out's, homes and where they got their hangovers. Additionally there are features, that serve as a walking tour for any serious Who fan visiting London and these include locations relating to the band like the Goldhawk Club and Quadrophenia (the movie) and many more from around city.Ian Snowball is the author the best-selling Keith Moon: There Is No Substitute, That's Entertainment: My Life In The Jam (Rick Buckler of The Jam's autobiography) and Thick As Thieves (Personal Situations With The Jam). Ian is also donating 50% of his royalties for this book to the Teenage Cancer Trust, a charity that Roger Daltrey is a patron of.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910705452
Publisher: New Haven Publishing Ltd
Publication date: 09/20/2016
Pages: 230
Sales rank: 796,813
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.48(d)

About the Author

Ian Snowball - Born and raised in Kent. Ian has an admiration for music and cult writers such as Pete McKenna and John King and tends to read any books with musical connections. An early fascination with music kicked off after having bought his first 7 inch record That's Entertainment by The Jam. From here on there was a musical discovery that included Northern Soul, Reggae, Ska, Punk, House music and such bands as The Jam, The Small Faces, The Prisoners and The Who.

Ian began writing books in 2008 and had his debut novel Long Hot Summer published in 2009. His next project was a book about British youth cults called Tribe: Made In Britain, which he co-wrote with Pete McKenna. Ian and Pete then collaborated on a crime fiction novel about Mods and East End gangsters that was set in 1967. The book called In the Blood was published in 2012, the same year as Thick as Thieves (Personal Situations With the Jam)-co-written with Stu Deabill, of which Paul Weller said was 'the best book on The Jam and its audience I've ever seen'.

2013 then saw the publication of Supersonic (Personal Situations With Oasis) and From Ronnie's To Raver's (Personal Situations in London's Clubland) which were also co-written with Stu Deabill. And in November that year Ian and Pete had their northern soul fictional short stories book called Nightshift/All Souled Out published.

In 2014 Ian had three books published. His book about Ocean Colour Scene called Soul Driver was published one month after his book on Dexys Midnight Runner's called The Team That Dreams in Caffs which he co-wrote with Dexys band member Geoff 'JB' Blythe was published and finally that year Ian's other published book about the Medway garage and punk scene was called the Kids Are All Square.

In 2015 Ian co-wrote That's Entertainment ( My Life In The Jam) with The Jam's drummer Rick Buckler. 2016 also saw the publication of Ian's book Keith Moon: There Is No Substitute with an introduction by Pete Townshend and a foreword from Clem Burke. This was Ian's third best-selling book.

Table of Contents


Who Are You 9
1964 - Maximum R&B 32
1965 - My Generation 63
1966 - One Quick One, While He's Away 90
1967 - I Can See for Miles 101
1968 - You're All Forgiven 105
1969 - I'm Free 109
1970 - See Me, Feel Me 121
1971 - Who's Next 123
1972 - Join Together 124
1973 - I Woke Up in a Soho Doorway 125
1974 - Long Live Rock 132
1975 - Dreaming From the Waist 136
1976 - The Punk and the Godfather 137
1977 - The Kids are Allright 139
1978 - Not to be Taken Away 141
1979 - Who's Next 143
1980 - The Whooligans 147
1981 - You Better, You Bet 148
1982, 1983 and 1984 - It's Hard 149
1985 - Who's Last 150
1988 - Who's Better, Who's Best 151

1989 152
1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 and 1994 - No London Gigs 153
1995 154
1996 155
1997 159
1999 160
2000 162
2002 163
2004 164
2005 - Live8 Concert 165
2006 167
8th February 2007 - The Hospital London 168
2008 169
2009 170
2010 171
2011 172
2012 173
2013 174
2014 176
2015 177
The Who London Concerts 1962-2015 182
Going Mobile - Locations for The Who 193

About the Author 226

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews