The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

by Alafair Burke

Hardcover

$21.59 $26.99 Save 20% Current price is $21.59, Original price is $26.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense by Alafair Burke


"This year's Gone Girl."Harlan Coben

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look—at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062390516
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/23/2018
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 21,241
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Alafair Burke is a New York Times bestselling author whose novels include the standalone thrillers The Ex, Long Gone and If You Were Here, and the Ellie Hatcher series: All Day and a Night, Never Tell, 212, Angel’s Tip, and Dead Connection. She is also the coauthor of the Under Suspicion series with Mary Higgins Clark. A former prosecutor, she is now a professor of criminal law and lives in Manhattan.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Ended abruptly, and I mean abruptly,,,,,,could have used another 15 pages to wrap up the loose ends ,,,,,, what happens to Spenser and Jason, and Ginny Mullen’s, I didn’t know it was ended til I turned the page and saw acknowledgements.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent read as she always provides. So many twists and turns that it’s hard to put down!
Anonymous 9 months ago
Fantastic writing with great pace and a twist at the end! What's not to like? I plan to read the rest of Burke's novels.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Always enjoy her books. This was a fantastic read. Hope there' s a follow up.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Good summer book ro read. Did not guess the ending.
Jasmyn9 4 months ago
Holy cow! The Wife was a mind-blowing story. I didn't see any of it coming, and I loved each and every little or big surprise. Angela has a dark past that she has never really recovered from, preferring to stay behind the scenes and not take part in the spotlight of her husband's amazingly successful career. But when women make accusations against him for sexual harassment, Angela sees her life starting to fall apart. But when these women disappear, Angela is forced even closer to the spotlight she has been trying to avoid. And here's where things get really really interesting. I had a least a dozen "say what?" moments that just led to yet another one. Nothing turned out the way I expected, but all made perfect sense in the end. There were some moments in the story that really dragged though. I'm still not sure if they were just lying more groundwork or just in there to take up a little space and spread out the story a little. I feel like if I read this book a second, third, fourth time, that I'd see more and more every time. That's how deep things are layered, and maybe there is more hidden in the dragging scenes than I gave them credit for. *I voluntarily reviewed a free copy of this book*
Anonymous 7 months ago
Always twists and turns. Great reading. Superb writer.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Started out slow but did not expect the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wanted to like this book and enjoyed The Ex by this author, but the writer seems so steeped in pc think that it didnt come off as original or thought provoking, just more ripped from headlines
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to be on the edge of my seat with a psychological thriller. This was not that to me. T The premise was good, and I think with different writing it could have been a thriller. Seemed choppy and too subtle to make surprise ending believable. Also the end seemed unsatisfactory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a good book, couldn't put it down. I love how Alafair Buhrke always keeps me guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic psychological thriller. It had me hooked from the beginning. Very timely and brilliantly written. And what an ending. Definitely love to read Alafair Burkes's books. Keep it up!
CCinME More than 1 year ago
Wow! Thrill ride all the way through! Twists and turns abound. You won't see the ending coming at you!
ASalt More than 1 year ago
“The Wife” by Alafair Burke, follows Angela Powell, a middle-aged single mother married to Jason Powell, a successful NYU Economics professor who also doubles as a TV personality and consultant. Their lives seems perfect until a series of accusations—starting from Rachel, a Master’s degree student who interned for Jason, and then continuing with Kerry Lynch, the marketing VP from Oasis, a client of Jason’s consulting company which delivers clean water to third world countries—threaten to unravel everything they have together, as Jason is investigated over claims of sexual harassment and rape. Suddenly Angela herself, who’s been keeping a secret she doesn’t want anyone to know about, is put under the microscope, as well as the state of their marriage, which is not what it appears to be. And then one of Jason’s accusers goes missing. The story is told from multiple view points, including from that of Angela, Jason’s wife (in the first person), as well as from Corrine, who is the detective in charge of the case (in the third person). For much of the story I thought I knew where it was going to go, but then the author surprised me and finished with a Gone Girl-type twist. If you enjoy psychological thrillers, this is an interesting read. I also thought it was a particularly timely topic, in light of the recent headlines and the current atmosphere in Hollywood.