The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World: A Novel

The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World: A Novel

by Kristin Rockaway

Paperback

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World: A Novel by Kristin Rockaway

Fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Devil Wears Prada will love this smart, sexy debut novel of wanderlust.

Objectively, Sophie is a success: she's got a coveted job at a top consulting firm, a Manhattan apartment, and a passport full of stamps. It isn't quite what she dreamed of when she was a teenager dog-earing pages in exotic travel guides, but it's secure. Then her best friend bails just hours after they arrive in Hong Kong for a girls' trip, and Sophie meets Carson, a free-spirited, globetrotting American artist.

In the midst of their whirlwind vacation romance, Carson invites Sophie to join him on his haphazard journey around the world. While the brief international jaunts she sneaks in between business trips don't feel like enough, Sophie is far too practical to throw away her five-year plan on a whim. Yet Carson's offer forces her to question whether the reliable life she's chosen is really what she wants—and she soon discovers that his feelings for her run deeper than she realized.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455597536
Publisher: Center Street
Publication date: 06/06/2017
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 299,121
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

KRISTIN ROCKAWAY is a native New Yorker with an insatiable case of wanderlust. After working in the IT industry for far too many years, she traded the city for the surf and chased her dreams out to Southern California, where she spends her days happily writing stories instead of software. THE WILD WOMAN'S GUIDE TO TRAVELING THE WORLD is her first novel. When she's not writing, she enjoys spending time with her husband and son, and planning her next big vacation.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World: A Novel 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
LaurenAlsten 5 months ago
First off, I loved the opening scene! And although it's a catalyst for everything else that happens in the book, I was happy that Sophie forgave her friend for being self-absorbed and whiny, because as it turns out, Sophie's epiphanies have her questioning her own life choices as well. She and Carson hit it off strong and I was seriously jonesing the details of their relationship both inside as well as outside the sheets/windows, etc. Having also ditched the corporate world, I could identify/relate to all of Sophie's fears as she entered a new phase in her life, and discovering Carson followed her home made me squeal out loud. How he ended up helping her in spite of her fear/harsh words had me wanting a Carson all my own. Loved both their character arcs! The only bad thing about this book was that it ended :(
Honolulubelle More than 1 year ago
Favorite Quotes: Elena rarely left the tri-state area; her idea of an exotic getaway involved tanning on the Jersey Shore. But with my focus on the future, I rarely immersed myself in the right now. My life was reduced to a series of check marks, ticking off each goal I achieved without taking the time to revel in my accomplishments. As soon as I hit one target, I was already reaching for the next one and contemplating the one after that. I rushed full speed ahead, my sights pointed sharply forward, never stopping to take a look at what was around me. I can sketch in Hong Kong, in Australia, in New York. I can find an adventure wherever I am. The only constant I need in my life is you. So wherever you go, I’ll follow. My Review: Sophie loved to travel and plan travel and dream up detailed imaginary itineraries, although she had unfortunately chosen the wrong travel partner in Elena who decided on their first night there that she just wasn’t feeling the Hong Kong vacation that Sophie had planned and paid for and after a tense dinner of informing Sophie of all her unlovable and miserable flaws, Elena flew back home the very next day. Wow, this was the opening scene of the story and although I flinched a few times, I was hooked. Poor Sophie, I felt for her and was exasperated by her and also wanted to kick her more than a few times as I saw far too much of my twenty and thirty-something self in this character; it was rather eerie and more than a bit painful. I truly adored the character of Carson who proved that opposites not only attract, they can bewitch and fascinate. Carson was an artistic dreamer going through a nomad stage while Sophie was a highly structured and over anxious planner. I was stunned to realize this insightful and well-written book was the author’s first; every single character was colorfully described with vivid environmental details and interesting facts also tucked into the narrative. The premise was unique and entertaining while writing was cleverly observant, wryly amusing, and delightfully steamy. Ms. Rockaway has a bright future ahead of her.
Suze-Lavender More than 1 year ago
Sophie is successful at her job at a consulting firm in New York and has a bright career ahead of her. The only thing she really likes about it though is the traveling. When she finally has the chance to go on holiday, she wants to make her dream of visiting Hong Kong come true. She goes with a friend, but this friend is feeling homesick and bails on her shortly after their arrival. That's when Sophie meets Carson, an artist who's completely free to do whatever he wants and go anywhere he likes. Carson and Sophie soon become inseparable and Sophie adjusts her plans, so they can spend any moment she's in Hong Kong together. Carson would love for her to join him on his travels and invites Sophie to stay. Sophie has a five-year plan and Carson's impulsive decision making doesn't fit into this at all. She does have feelings for him, but she can't abandon her whole life for him, can she? What will Sophie do, will she follow her heart or will she remain sensible? Is it already too late to remain cautious and has meeting Carson changed her life forever or can she go back to the life she so carefully planned for herself? The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World is a fantastic romantic story. I loved Sophie. She's smart, determined and passionate. She loves to travel and she knows so much about the best places to visit, the food that shouldn't be missed and the history of anything interesting she comes across. She's sweet, but guarded and Carson makes her feel more alive. He's exactly what she needs. He's a free spirit and his kindness and artistic talent are making him fascinating to read about. Sophie and Carson have plenty of sparks and I couldn't wait to find out where their journey would lead. Kristin Rockaway writes about traveling in a great colorful and detailed way. I instantly felt inspired by her story and was enthusiastic about her subject. I love it when a main character has big dreams and couldn't wait to find out what Sophie would do to make them come true. The Wild Woman's Guide to Traveling the World is an entertaining story filled with beautiful true love, gorgeous destinations and wonderful life lessons. I really liked this amazing book.
SMWard More than 1 year ago
This novel offers a fun ride through New York and Hong Kong with romance, adventure and soul-searching. Our protagonist Sophie has achieved her childhood dream of traveling the world—or has she? While her stressful job in NYC allows her to travel, it’s dictated by the company and she spends far too much time and energy on work. She’d love to travel on her own terms, but how to achieve that? Enter Carson, who is more than a typical fling. Like Sophie, he’s passionate about travel, but he’s also a free spirit and an artist with no big plans. Sophie falls briefly under his spell before real life beckons and she’s forced back to her job and her well-ordered but boring life. I enjoyed the fact that Sophie is independent, and she decides to make big life changes on her own. Her new man inspires her, but she doesn’t go chasing after him. She’s the Manager and CEO of her own dreams and desires, and is a solid role model for any woman wondering: where did my passion for life go? When and where did I lose my way? (And what the heck can I do about it?) It’s never too late!
Megan0 More than 1 year ago
The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World is an energetic, fresh read that combines the best aspects of romance, women’s fiction, and chick-lit. It’s the perfect kind of book to read on vacation, but better, because of the immersive quality of Kristin Rockaway’s writing and the transformations the characters go through, it’s the kind of book that will make you feel like you’ve been on vacation even if you don’t currently have the time or money to take one. What I enjoyed most about this book is Kristin’s writing voice. Sometimes, voice is a hard thing to pinpoint, but when an author has it, you know, and here, it leaps off the page. Even if the main character, Sophie, was never physically described and no background was given, you’d still feel like you’d known her your whole life, just from the way she speaks externally, internally, what she observes, and how. Also relating to Sophie as the main character, I loved how the many ying-and-yang qualities of her personality made her so real and relatable. She’s confident yet scared. A planner but she’s free spirited. My favorite books have unique settings, so Hong Kong as a setting really spoke to me. Hong Kong’s not a place that’s ever been on my travel bucket list, but in post-WWGTW hindsight, I think it’s because I didn’t know much about it and the language-factor was intimidating. But now that I have a taste of the views of Victoria Harbor from the Peak, shimmering views at night, steaming dim sum, pineapple buns with a coating of crystalized sugar for breakfast, a quick side trip Macau via ferry…consider Hong Kong added to my travel bucket list! In short, this is a book where you can relax and enjoy being transported but also feel like you’ve learned some things by the time you finish (almost in a “Lean In” sort of way). Can’t wait for Kristin’s next book!
LH_Writes More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate enough to receive a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. And I adored everything about it. Sophie's got a plan. She works hard, she makes good money, and she gets to travel the world doing it. But everything is very structured. She doesn't just cut loose and enjoy the world - until she meets Carson. He helps her see what's missing from her life. The descriptions are vivid, I felt like I was visiting these places along with Sophie. It's easy to identify with the main character, and I loved the way the story unfolded. This is a book I'll read over and over, and I can't wait.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Kristin Rockaway’s debut novel, The Wild Woman’s Guide to Traveling the World. Through lush, almost nostalgic description, I found myself travelling from the busy streets of Hong Kong to corporate skyscrapers in New York City and beyond. A beautiful love story unfolded between our heroine and her American artist as she struggled in her journey to take risk and follow her heart, choosing between her high-paying consulting job and her passion for travel. This sedentary reader wishes all travel guides were like this one, complete with the breathtaking scene in a luxury suite of a Macau casino.