The Witch is Back: A Second Chance Witchy Romance

The Witch is Back: A Second Chance Witchy Romance

by Sophie H. Morgan

Narrated by Natalie Duke

Unabridged — 12 hours, 54 minutes

The Witch is Back: A Second Chance Witchy Romance

The Witch is Back: A Second Chance Witchy Romance

by Sophie H. Morgan

Narrated by Natalie Duke

Unabridged — 12 hours, 54 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$4.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$31.99 Save 84% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $31.99. You Save 84%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $4.99 $31.99

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Fast-paced romance, snappy dialogue and the unstoppable charm make The Witch Is Back a delicious addition to the witchy rom-com realm. Fans of Hester Fox and Hazel Beck, you’ve found your next read.

Love is a hex of a thing. Former childhood sweethearts fake a relationship in this charming, witchy romcom.

There's nothing wrong with being a wallflower. Not to Emmaline Bluewater, anyway. Emma may have been born into witch society, but her days of trying to fit in where she doesn't belong are over-they ended seven years ago, when the man she'd hoped to marry left town without a word. She's much happier now, living a delightfully mundane human life in Chicago and running her bar, Toil and Trouble.

Until Bastian Truenote walks through the door and announces that he wants her back.

Bastian had his reasons for leaving-even if he can't tell Emma what they are. Now, to win Emma's heart, he's got to face down an adorably goofy dog familiar, a best friend who's all too eager to hit him with a carefully aimed hex, and a woman who's far from the meek witch he remembers.

Magical contracts aren't easily broken, but as far as Emma's concerned, not even a marriage of convenience will have her falling under Bastian's spell again...

Fall in love with this charming romcom about second chances and witchcraft.

Follow Emmaline and Bastian as they navigate their reunion and try to fake a relationship to win a magical contract.

With an adorably goofy dog familiar and a best friend who's all too eager to hit Bastian with a carefully aimed hex, this book is perfect for fans of witchy romance and autumn vibes.

HarperCollins 2024


Editorial Reviews

AUGUST 2023 - AudioFile

Natalie Duke takes listeners into the witchy world of Emmaline Bluewater. After her childhood sweetheart, Bastian Truenote, leaves her without explanation, Emmaline is happy to escape her magical ways and live a completely mundane life in Chicago, running her own bar. However, seven years later the handsome and mysterious Bastian returns and now wants Emmaline to marry him. Emmaline's vulnerable, protective, and loyal personality is conveyed in Duke's seamless performance. Duke expertly portrays this third-person novel, alternating between the heroine and the hero's chapters and transitioning flawlessly among the various character voices. This mystical rom-com will leave listeners longing for Emmaline and Bastian to reveal all their secrets and take that second chance on love. J.J.M. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

Publishers Weekly

06/19/2023

With this tongue-in-cheek paranormal rom-com, Morgan (Her Wish) draws readers into a world of magical mayhem. Emmaline “Emma” Bluewater and her best friend Bastian Truenote, both scions of powerful New Orleans witch families, were betrothed as children. Then Bastian ran out on Emma without explanation right before their wedding day. Seven years later, Emma has left witch society behind, moving to Chicago and opening a bar with her best friends. It’s a good life—complete with a cute canine familiar—until Bastian walks into her bar, pulling her back into the magical world. He’s discovered a “nasty side effect” to him breaking their enchanted engagement contract: the witnesses to the contract—their respective parents—will die prematurely if they do not get married. Bastian had good reason for leaving when he did, but he’s still sorry he hurt Emma—even if he’s not entirely sure he can trust her. Will their arranged marriage lead to real love? Though the pace occasionally lags, watching the endearingly awkward protagonists navigate witchy high society is a joy. This is sure to win Morgan some new fans. Agent: Lizzie Poteet, Seymour Agency. (Aug.)

Hazel Beck

A fun, enjoyable read to pick up this spooky season!”

From the Publisher

"A fun, enjoyable read to pick up this spooky season!" —Hazel Beck, author of Small Town, Big Magic

“With this tongue-in-cheek paranormal rom-com, Morgan draws readers into a world of magical mayhem.[...] watching the endearingly awkward protagonists navigate witchy high society is a joy. This is sure to win Morgan some new fans.” —Publishers Weekly

Library Journal

07/01/2023

Emmaline Bluewater has always been shy and serious. But after the warlock she was supposed to marry fled, the wallflower witch remade her life in the mundane human world. Now she co-owns and runs a Chicago bar called Toil and Trouble with her two best friends. When her runaway fiancé Bastian Truenote comes back to fulfill the terribly binding contract of their arranged marriage, Emma is no longer easily charmed by her childhood sweetheart. However, to avoid a cursed engagement clause and navigate witch high society expectations, they decide on a marriage of convenience despite the bothersome lingering feelings and attraction between them. Strong prose and fun banter make Emma and Bastian's story enjoyable, and it's made more endearing by incredibly loyal chosen family and sweet animal familiars offering emotional support. Although a modern paranormal world with aspects of social order is an interesting setup, Emma's power-hungry Wicked Witch mother comes across as a stereotypical antagonist. Still, the high-stakes secrets and reveals lead to satisfying moments that make the plot sweet and magical. VERDICT Morgan (His Command) distinguishes her steamy witch rom-com with impressive twists on romance tropes that will bewitch fans of the genre.—Hazel Ureta

AUGUST 2023 - AudioFile

Natalie Duke takes listeners into the witchy world of Emmaline Bluewater. After her childhood sweetheart, Bastian Truenote, leaves her without explanation, Emmaline is happy to escape her magical ways and live a completely mundane life in Chicago, running her own bar. However, seven years later the handsome and mysterious Bastian returns and now wants Emmaline to marry him. Emmaline's vulnerable, protective, and loyal personality is conveyed in Duke's seamless performance. Duke expertly portrays this third-person novel, alternating between the heroine and the hero's chapters and transitioning flawlessly among the various character voices. This mystical rom-com will leave listeners longing for Emmaline and Bastian to reveal all their secrets and take that second chance on love. J.J.M. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176801293
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 08/15/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 329,944
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews