The Wizard of Oz [Rhino Original Soundtrack Deluxe Edition]

The Wizard of Oz [Rhino Original Soundtrack Deluxe Edition]


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Wizard of Oz [Rhino Original Soundtrack Deluxe Edition]

There were at least two versions of The Wizard of Oz on compact disc before Rhino issued this double-CD deluxe version. Those earlier CDs had been mastered, respectively, from the original LP master created by MGM Records in the mid-'50s, or used a restored version of the finished film as the source for most of its content. But this set represents the first occasion on which the original unedited studio recordings of the score -- derived from the "angles" captured by various microphones used in the recording process -- have been assembled for commercial release; and, indeed, the first time these uncut recordings, of the music as it was conceived and written, before being edited to fit the final release cut of the movie, have been heard since 1939. The results are astounding, to say the least -- in addition to giving us a full account of the underscore for the movie in all of its finest nuances so that one can appreciate the action on the instruments and the fine details of the orchestration, it also reveals a wealth of subliminal detail in the music writing, a match in its depth and range for the finest operas of Verdi and Puccini. In fact, hearing the complete first disc and the first half of the second, which together comprise the soundtrack of the movie, is the equivalent of finding a new way to absorb the movie, regardless of how well one has known it up to this point: on that basis alone, fans of the movie will find this set essential. Additionally, the second CD contains alternate versions of portions of the score, and unused portions of the score that will be a revelation to anyone who enjoys the movie. And the accompanying booklet delves into the whole history of Oz as a literary, theatrical, and cinematic creation going back to the point where it was coming right off the pen of L. Frank Baum, plunging into ever greater detail as it approaches the 1939 MGM movie, where it goes into every aspect of the production with a special emphasis on the writing and creating of the songs and score. The package is extremely handsome as well as neatly devised, and it is clearly intended for serious devotees of the music and the movie. The one cautionary note is that this is probably not the version of the soundtrack that one would purchase for a child who was a fan of the music or the movie (unless it were a very sophisticated child), for whom a less ambitious release would be more appropriate.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/18/1995
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227196424
catalogNumber: 71964


Disc 1

  1. Main Title
  2. Trouble in School
  3. Farmyard
  4. Over the Rainbow
  5. Miss Gulch
  6. Leaving Home
  7. Crystal Gazing
  8. Cyclone
  9. Munchkinland
  10. I'm Not A Witch
  11. Come Out, Come Out...(Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  12. It Really Was No Miracle (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  13. We Thank You Very Sweetly (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  14. Ding-Dong the Witch Is Dead (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  15. As Mayor of Munchkin City (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  16. As Coroner, I Must Aver (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  17. Ding-Dong the Witch Is Dead (Reprise) (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  18. The Lullaby League (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  19. The Lollipop Guild (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  20. We Welcome You to Munchkinland (Munchkinland Musical Sequence)
  21. Threatening Witch
  22. Leaving Munchkinland
  23. Good Fairy Vanishes
  24. Follow The Yellow Brick Road/You're Off To See The Wizard
  25. The Cornfield
  26. If I Only Had a Brain
  27. We're off to See the Wizard
  28. The Apple Orchard
  29. If I Only Had a Heart
  30. Witch on Roof
  31. Bees & Tin Woodman Lament
  32. We're off to See the Wizard
  33. Into The Forest Of Wild Beasts
  34. The Lion's Confession
  35. If I Only Had the Nerve
  36. We're off to See the Wizard
  37. Poppies
  38. The Spell
  39. Optimistic Voices
  40. Sign on the Gate/The City Gates Open
  41. The Merry Old Land of Oz
  42. Change of the Guard/Wizard's Exit
  43. If I Were King of the Forest
  44. At the Gates of Emerald City
  45. Magic Smoke Chords
  46. Terrified Lion

Disc 2

  1. The Haunted Forest
  2. The Jitterbug
  3. The Jitterbug's Attack
  4. The Witch's Castle
  5. Toto Brings News/Over the Rainbow (Reprise)
  6. March of the Winkies
  7. Dorothy's Rescue
  8. On the Castle Wall
  9. Ding-Dong! Emerald City
  10. The Wizard's Exposé/Emerald City Graduation Exercises
  11. Fill-In Awards/I Was Floating Through Space/Balloon Ascension/Second Ch
  12. I Hereby Decree
  13. Delirious Escape /Delirious Escape Continued/End Title [Extended Versio
  14. Main Title
  15. Over the Rainbow
  16. Over the Rainbow
  17. Cyclone
  18. Munchkinland Insert
  19. I'm Not a Witch
  20. Munchkinland Musical Sequence
  21. Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead
  22. The Lollipop Guild
  23. Follow the Yellow Brick Road/You're off to See the Wizard
  24. If I Only Had a Brain
  25. If I Only Had a Heart
  26. The Lion's Confession
  27. Poppies
  28. Optimistic Voices
  29. Optimistic Voices
  30. The Merry Old Land of Oz
  31. If I Were King Of The Forest
  32. If I Were King of the Forest
  33. The Jitterbug
  34. Over the Rainbow (Reprise)
  35. Ding-Dong! Emerald City
  36. End Title

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Judy Garland   Vocals,Track Performer
Bobby Watson   Track Performer
Harold Arlen   Track Performer
Ray Bolger   Vocals,Track Performer
Buddy Ebsen   Vocals,Track Performer
Ken Darby   Track Performer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Track Performer
Roger Edens   Piano,Track Performer
MGM Studio Orchestra   Track Performer
George Stoll   Violin,Track Performer
Billy Bletcher   Vocals,Track Performer
Adriana Caselotti   Voices
Pinto Colvig   Track Performer
Betty Rome   Vocals,Track Performer
Nick Angelo   Vocals
Robert Bradford   Vocals
Lorraine Bridges   Vocals,Track Performer
Tyler Brook   Vocals,Track Performer
Lois Clements   Vocals
Debutantes   Vocals
Abe Dinovitch   Vocals
Zari Elmassian   Vocals
Lois January   Vocals
Virgil Johansen   Vocals
Bert Lahr   Vocals,Track Performer
Elivda Rizzo   Vocals
Herbert Stothart   Conductor
Ralph Sudam   Vocals,Track Performer
Billie Burke   Track Performer
MGM Studio Chorus   Track Performer
Carol Tevis   Track Performer
J.D. Jewkes   Track Performer
Frank Cucksey   Track Performer
Joseph Koziel   Track Performer
Cha Irwin   Track Performer
Dona Massin   Track Performer
Jack Haley   Vocals,Actor
King's Men   Vocals
Frank Morgan   Vocals,Track Performer
Harry Stanton   Track Performer
Oliver Smith   Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Judy Garland   Contributor
Harold Arlen   Composer
Robert Watson   Contributor
Ray Bolger   Contributor
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Chuck "Fingers" Irwin   Contributor
Conrad Salinger   Orchestration
Doug Schwartz   Engineer
Marilee Bradford   Producer
Bradley Flanagan   Producer
MGM Studio Orchestra   Contributor
George Stoll   Arranger,Composer
George Bassman   Arranger,Composer,Orchestration
Lorraine Bridges   Contributor
Tyler Brook   Contributor
Lois January   Contributor
Bert Lahr   Contributor
Elivda Rizzo   Contributor
Herbert Stothart   Arranger,Composer,Musical Adaptation
Ralph Sudam   Contributor
John Fricke   Liner Notes
Rachel Gutek   Art Direction
Coco Shinomiya   Art Direction
Leo Arnaud   Orchestration
Murray Cutter   Orchestration
Jack Haley   Contributor
Frank Morgan   Contributor
Oliver Smith   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews