The Women of Heachley Hall

The Women of Heachley Hall

by Rachel Walkley

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Miriam has one year to uncover an unimaginable past and a secret that only women can discover.

The life of a freelance illustrator will never rake in the millions so when twenty-eight year old Miriam discovers she's the sole surviving heir to her great-aunt's fortune, she can't believe her luck. She dreams of selling her poky city flat and buying a studio.

But great fortune comes with an unbreakable contract. To earn her inheritance, Miriam must live a year and a day in the decaying Heachley Hall.

The fond memories of visiting the once grand Victorian mansion are all she has left of her parents and the million pound inheritance is enough of a temptation to encourage her to live there alone.

After all, a year's not that long. So with the help of a local handyman, she begins to transform the house.

But the mystery remains. Why would loving Aunt Felicity do this to her?

Alone in the hall with her old life miles away, Miriam is desperate to discover the truth behind Felicity's terms. Miriam believes the answer is hiding in her aunt's last possession: a lost box. But delving into Felicity and Heachley's long past is going to turn Miriam's view of the world upside down.

Does she dare keep searching, and if she does, what if she finds something she wasn't seeking?

Has something tragic happened at Heachley Hall?

Goodreads Reviews

"It's an intriguing read with twists and turns, stops and starts and I absolutely loved it."

"...beautifully written mystery weaves a spell around the house..."

"A haunting romance full of intrigue."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155749370
Publisher: Spare Time Press
Publication date: 08/02/2018
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 573 KB

About the Author

Born in the East of England, Rachel has lived in big cities and small villages including London and Bristol, before settling in Cheshire.

For most of her working life, she's been a scientist and librarian, and her love of creative writing has never ceased even when surrounded by technical reports and impenetrable patents. Among moments of mummy taxi, delving into museum archives, drawing pictures and flute playing, Rachel finds a little time to pen her magical mysteries.

Table of Contents

Part 1. The Will - contemporary

Thirty numbered chapters.

Part 2. The Journal - Historical account 1900-1960s

Six chapters titled:

The Marsters Family (1873–1914)

The Great War and beyond (1914–1934)

The First Tenants (1934–1946)

The Hinderton Affair (1947–1953)

The Branston Family (1953–1965)

Felicity Marsters (1966)

Part 3. The Grave - contemporary

Four numbered chapters plus Epilogue

Author bio

Customer Reviews