The 'Women of Renown' Series - Elizabeth Garrett Anderson

The 'Women of Renown' Series - Elizabeth Garrett Anderson

by H. Bellis


$24.81 $27.99 Save 11% Current price is $24.81, Original price is $27.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Published as part of the ‘Women of Renown’ series, this book describes the life of Elizabeth Garrett Anderson (1836-1917), the English physician and suffragist, and the first woman to qualify in Britain as a physician and surgeon. It offers a poetic and insightful read for historians and those with an interest in Anderson, women’s history or biographical writing. Chapters: Elizabeth Garrett Anderson - Adventurous Journey - Worthy Establishment - An Exciting Summer - Gradual Awakening - First Woman Doctor - Important Decision - At Work in the Wards - Undaunted by Setbacks - A Step forward - Joint Enterprise - Resolute Candidate - Honoured in France - Continental Adventure - Education Reform - A Happy Marriage - Happiness and Success - Student insurgents - Widespread interests - Elizabeth’s Children - Further Bitterness Aroused - Active Retirement - Pioneer Medical Unit. Using the original text and artwork, this vintage text is being republished in a high quality, modern and affordable edition, complete with a specially written concise biography.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781446507049
Publisher: Read Books
Publication date: 11/09/2010
Pages: 82
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.20(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews