ISBN-10:
0385546696
ISBN-13:
9780385546690
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
The Women of Troy

The Women of Troy

by Pat Barker

Hardcover

$22.99 $28.00 Save 18% Current price is $22.99, Original price is $28. You Save 18%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Another exciting new mythological retelling! In this brilliant, highly anticipated follow-up to Silence of the Girls, the women of Troy forge alliances and work to plot their revenge. Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Madeline Miller.

A daring and timely feminist retelling of The Iliad from the perspective of the women of Troy who endured it—an extraordinary follow up to The Silence of the Girls from the Booker Prize-winning author of The Regeneration Trilogy.

"An important, powerful, memorable book."—Emily Wilson, translator of The Odyssey


Troy has fallen and the victorious Greeks are eager to return home with the spoils of an endless war—including the women of Troy themselves. They await a fair wind for the Aegean.

It does not come, because the gods are offended. The body of King Priam lies unburied and desecrated, and so the victors remain in suspension, camped in the shadows of the city they destroyed as the coalition that held them together begins to unravel. Old feuds resurface and new suspicions and rivalries begin to fester.

Largely unnoticed by her captors, the one time Trojan queen Briseis, formerly Achilles's slave, now belonging to his companion Alcimus, quietly takes in these developments. She forges alliances when she can, with Priam's aged wife the defiant Hecuba and with the disgraced soothsayer Calchas, all the while shrewdly seeking her path to revenge.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385546690
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/24/2021
Series: Silence of the Girls Series , #2
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 9,304
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

PAT BARKER is the author of sixteen novels, beginning with her working class masterpiece Union Street in 1982. Her Regeneration Trilogy novels set in the First World War were awarded the Booker Prize and praised as one of the greatest historical novels in British literature. Her last novel, The Silence of the Girls, was shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction and the Gordon Prize in the UK, and won the Independent Bookshop Award in 2019. She was made a CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire) in 2000. She lives in Durham, England.

Hometown:

Durham, England

Date of Birth:

May 8, 1943

Place of Birth:

Thornaby-on-Tees, England

Education:

London School of Economics; Durham University

Customer Reviews