The Wonder Garden

The Wonder Garden

by Lauren Acampora

Hardcover(New Edition)

$24.00
View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780802123558
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Publication date: 05/05/2015
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Lauren Acampora's fiction has appeared in The Paris Review, Missouri Review, Prairie Schooner, New England Review, and Antioch Review. Raised in Connecticut, she now lives in Westchester County, New York, with her husband, artist Thomas Doyle, and their daughter.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wonder Garden 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The separate stories have a common thread...sadness. At the end you will say, " I knew it would end like this. A none ending. The author finally just stops. Maybe I am just too stupid to get it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took a story to get into this but then was entranced. Short stories stand alone but also reference one another in a way that makes you feel likd yiu have secret insight into the characters' private worlds. Clever and memorable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding first novel. Fans of Shirley Jackson and Daphne DuMaurier will enjoy this book. It is brilliant, dark, and riveting. I enjoyed the connections between the characters and stories. Her writing is so intelligent and engaging, and she does this magical thing where she turns ordinary people and things into eerie situations that will make you squirm. Barnes and Noble should clean up these review sections. It is ridiculous that kids are hijacking these Nook review threads and they are just being left here like graffiti. Not cool.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The connections between the characters in the stories are interesting, but there is no culmination of anything that would make it all worth the read.
Myrtle-Ruth More than 1 year ago
Disclaimer: this reviewer typically doesn't like short story collections. Given that, it is no surprise that I am having difficulty finding any positive element to write about. I was unable to find a connection with any of the characters -- not one! And their stories were just, well, too pathetic for me. A true display of dysfunction within families. Wish I could offer a more brilliant review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Some ppl calll me Kacie or Jade btw if u wanna call me Kacie than just spell it Kc but then u could still call me J ade