The World We Found

The World We Found

by Thrity Umrigar
4.1 31

Hardcover

$25.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar

Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar’s The World We Found—a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls “perceptive and often piercing.”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061938344
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/03/2012
Pages: 305
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Thrity Umrigar is the author of five other novels—The World We Found, The Weight of Heaven, The Space Between Us, If Today Be Sweet, and Bombay Time—and the memoir First Darling of the Morning. An award-winning journalist, she has been a contributor to the Washington Post, Boston Globe, and Huffington Post, among other publications. She is the winner of the Nieman Fellowship to Harvard, Cleveland Arts Prize, and Seth Rosenberg Prize, and is the Armington Professor of English at Case-Western Reserve University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The World We Found 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent, well paced and thoughtful,I was aware throughout how lucky woman are in this country to be able to make decisions for themselves and how careful one must be with their vote so that doesn't change.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I feel like the author has lived every word of what she writes. Her characters are real and even if you are not familiar with the customs or places you can imagine them to be true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and thought provoking. If you have ever wondered about the passions and causes you felt as a young adult and wondered what happened to them - this is the book to make you ponder the question even more.
bookchickdi More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful story about friendship, written with such insight and empathy. Although about four female friends, I found that the male characters, Iqbal and Adish, were just as interesting as the female characters. I think this is one of the best books I have read this year, and I learned so much about Indian society in the 1970s and today.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book, it just ended too soon. I hope there will be a sequel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book introduced me to political and social issues i never knew existed. It expanded my view of the world and took me to India for awhile. The plot was intriguing. I couldn't wait to turn each page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fairly good, but challenging at times to believe characters' responses to situations. Without close knowledge of the misogynistic Moslem culture, it would be difficult to understand why one of the main characters would tolerate her circumstances. Character development is so-so. Still, a fair read.
k-puff More than 1 year ago
I did not like the writers style. It read more like chick lit than the novel I was expecting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent account of contemporary versus recent-past social trends in India. Characters are developed seamlessly and plot moves quickly, captivating and holding reader's interest; however, although aftermath of ending will be obvious to readers, ending was disappointingly abrupt. A sequel would be great.
kld41 More than 1 year ago
The four women we meet are compelling and amazingly real.
4everbooks More than 1 year ago
I LOVED ALL THE CHARACTERS AND THEIR HUMOR. I FELT FOR EACH OF THEIR SITUATION. BUT I WAS DISAPPOINTED WITH THE ENDING
Two2dogs More than 1 year ago
I LOVED THIS BOOK, I ANYTHING WRITTEN BY THRITY UMRIGAR, I TOO GREW UP IN THE 70'S SO CAN RELATE TO THE TIMES. THIS IS A GREAT STORY OF LIFE TIME FRIENDSHIPS AND HOW OUR WORLD CHANGES OR HOW LIFE CHANGES US, BUT OUR FRIENDSHIPS REMAIN STRONG.