B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Wrong Heaven

The Wrong Heaven

by Amy Bonnaffons

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30

Overview

For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an "amazing, wildly inventive" collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical (Kevin Wilson).

In The Wrong Heaven, anything is possible: bodies can transform, inanimate objects come to life, angels appear and disappear.

Bonnaffons draws us into a delightfully strange universe, in which her conflicted characters seek to solve their sexual and spiritual dilemmas in all the wrong places. The title story's heroine reckons with grief while arguing with loquacious Jesus and Mary lawn ornaments that come to life when she plugs them in. In Horse, we enter a world in which women transform themselves into animals through a series of medical injections. In Alternate, a young woman convinces herself that all she needs to revive a stagnant relationship is the perfect poster of the Dalai Lama.

While some of the worlds to which Bonnaffons transports us are more recognizable than others, all of them uncover the mysteries beneath the mundane surfaces of our lives. Enormously funny, boldly inventive, and as provocative as they are deeply affecting, these stories lay bare the heart of our deepest longings.

Including the story Horse, as heard on This American Life.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316516181
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 01/14/2020
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,099,376
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

Amy Bonnaffons' work has appeared in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Kenyon Review, among other places, and has been read on This American Life. She is a founding editor of 7x7.la, an online journal that publishes collaborations between writers and visual artists.

She holds an MFA from NYU and currently lives in Athens, GA, where she is pursuing a PhD at the University of Georgia.

Customer Reviews