The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right

by Jenn Marie Thorne

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick comes this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of The West Wing.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

"A real page-turner, full of romance and intrigue"Chicago Tribune
"Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Huntley Fitzpatrick" —Glitter.com
"Both intelligent and heartfelt" —Booklist, starred review
"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family" SLJ
"Smart, fresh, [with] a delicious, secret romance" —Publishers Weekly
"Fast-paced...will keep the reader coming back for more"SLC
"High-stakes...a compulsively readable debut"The Horn Book Guide
"A 'can't put down' book"San Jose Mercury News 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780147509840
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 377,146
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: HL780L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Jenn Marie Thorne graduated from NYU-Tisch with a BFA in drama and quickly realized she was having more fun writing plays, short films, and superhero webisodes than actually performing in them. Then, when a flurry of political scandals hit the news, Jenn wondered what the kids at the center of the media's attention must be going through, and so began The Wrong Side of Right, her debut novel. Jen lives and writes in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her husband, two sons, and hound dog Molly.

Read an Excerpt

They didn't seem at all snooty like I'd worried they would be, given their prestigious school and the pedigrees of their families. And if they knew anything about me from the news, they made a really good show of pretending otherwise. Tonight, I wasn't the top story. I was just the new girl that their friend Andy wouldn't shut up about.
Did she think we were on a date? Did he?
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Wrong Side of Right"
by .
Copyright © 2016 Jenn Marie Thorne.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for The Wrong Side of Right

"Both intelligent and heartfelt, as Kate finds unexpected love as well as unimagined courage. . . . Not only does Thorne give readers a moving coming-of-age story, but casts a critical eye on the state of American politics."—Booklist, starred review

"Absorbing and timely."—Kirkus

"Smart and well-executed . . . It is easy to like strong, intelligent Kate . . . and the adults in her life are realistically complicated. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family."—School Library Journal

Customer Reviews