The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right

by Jenn Marie Thorne

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick comes this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of The West Wing.

Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.

"A real page-turner, full of romance and intrigue"Chicago Tribune
"Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Huntley Fitzpatrick" —Glitter.com
"Both intelligent and heartfelt" —Booklist, starred review
"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family" SLJ
"Smart, fresh, [with] a delicious, secret romance" —Publishers Weekly
"Fast-paced...will keep the reader coming back for more"SLC
"High-stakes...a compulsively readable debut"The Horn Book Guide
"A 'can't put down' book"San Jose Mercury News 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780147509840
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 490,380
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: HL780L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

Jenn Marie Thorne graduated from NYU-Tisch with a BFA in drama and quickly realized she was having more fun writing plays, short films, and superhero webisodes than actually performing in them. Then, when a flurry of political scandals hit the news, Jenn wondered what the kids at the center of the media's attention must be going through, and so began The Wrong Side of Right, her debut novel. Jen lives and writes in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her husband, two sons, and hound dog Molly.

Read an Excerpt

They didn't seem at all snooty like I'd worried they would be, given their prestigious school and the pedigrees of their families. And if they knew anything about me from the news, they made a really good show of pretending otherwise. Tonight, I wasn't the top story. I was just the new girl that their friend Andy wouldn't shut up about.
Did she think we were on a date? Did he?
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "The Wrong Side of Right"
by .
Copyright © 2016 Jenn Marie Thorne.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for The Wrong Side of Right

"Both intelligent and heartfelt, as Kate finds unexpected love as well as unimagined courage. . . . Not only does Thorne give readers a moving coming-of-age story, but casts a critical eye on the state of American politics."—Booklist, starred review

"Absorbing and timely."—Kirkus

"Smart and well-executed . . . It is easy to like strong, intelligent Kate . . . and the adults in her life are realistically complicated. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family."—School Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Wrong Side of Right 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
'The Wrong Side of Right' by Jenn Marie Thorne, is now one of my favorite books I have ever read. I have just recently finished it, like 10 minutes ago, and I wish there was more! The story line is not what you see in teenage books anymore. It had a true story line that had some romance but focused more on the main character and how she become who she was at the end of the story. It's not all about politics if that's what you are worried about. It shows how one event, one decision can lead to a whole new you. D.N.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I couldn't put this book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookbruin More than 1 year ago
The Wrong Side of Right really took me by surprise. I really enjoyed this story and the characters and found the relationships really compelling and interesting. Yes, there is some romance, but it's actually the family relationships that take center stage and are the most gripping. Kate is a very likable MC. Her struggle to navigate the political machine and stand up for what she believes in felt realistic, even though I have never been faced with those kinds of situations. Her life as she has known it is completely flipped upside down and she is forced to hit the ground running all while under the scrutiny of the media and public. I can't imagine that I would be able to handle it all with such grace as a teenager. I loved the bond that formed between her half siblings, Grace and Gabe, and especially the relationship that developed with her step mother, Meg. Meg really stepped up when Mark dropped the parenting ball and I loved her progression through the story. I did wish for more moments with Andy, but that's just the romantic in me. He was adorably sweet and I thought their enemies to friends to lovers story line was too cute. The Wrong Side of Right was a little long and I'm not a huge fan of politics, so those parts dragged a little for me, but overall, it was a very entertaining and cute contemporary story that I definitely recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
absolutely LOVED this book. Highly recommend if you want a fun, light read with a bit of drama.
Best-of-YA More than 1 year ago
For more reviews go to: http://best-of-ya.blogspot.com/ Imagine being told, after 16 years of total ignorance, that your father is the man currently running for the United States presidency. That is exactly what happens to Kate Quinn after her mother tragically passes away in a car crash. She is thrust into the public eye when she joins Senator Cooper—and the rest of her newly discovered family—for the summer as they get to know each other and campaign around the United States. Along the way, she befriends the presidents son. He understands exactly what she is currently going through and so he becomes one of the few people she can confide in. But when both your fathers are running for the most powerful position in the world, things can get a little tricky. This was cute, yet emotional; it really focuses on love and family and what those two things really mean. Kate struggles to get to know her father because he is somewhat distant and is constantly off trying to rack up votes. As she learns more about him and tries to understand his conflicting views, their relationship becomes strained. It takes a lot of tears and talks for them to find common ground. Meg, Kate’s stepmother, is strong, supportive, and kind. I respect her so much for the way she handles taking in, and loving, her husbands daughter. I’ve known people in the same situation as Kate who are not always as welcomed. (I’m glad that this is not the case because it is heartbreaking to see these children get the backlash for something they have no control over.) The twins are adorable—Gabe in particular. He is the complete opposite of his sister Gracie—timid & reserved—yet he warms up to Kate a lot quicker. There are slow parts that I found myself trying to rush through because they were frequent and all pretty much the same. A majority of the chapters seem to be of Kate stuck at home worrying about the campaign and about how she isn’t the perfect daughter. And while she travels around the country with the senator and the rest of the family to promote the campaign, we only get glimpses into these events before she is whisked back home again. I wish there had been more scenes with Andy; their first “date” was adorable and more of that would have been welcome. I feel like some of these filler chapters could have been left out altogether or substituted for some that brought more to the overall story.
mcflywithcheese More than 1 year ago
I was so charmed by this fantastic book. It takes a terrific what-if scenario--what if the father you never knew turned out to be the Republican candidate for President?--and executes it in such an honest, believable way. Kate Quinn is a wonderful protagonist, smart and funny, and the book manages to thoughtfully explore some aspects of the U.S. political arena while telling a completely engaging story. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't expect to love this book as much as I did. After reading the overview, I was expecting a cheesy story with some young romance. But it's not that at all. The Wrong Side of Right has characters that are so well developed and they are so lovable. The author creates such a real story, you can't help but be sad and love it at the same time. Once I started it, I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, it was amazing. Had me feeling so many different things, I loved the characters, they were really well developed and I felt like I really connected with them. This story is one that I would definitely recommend to Sarah Dessen lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite book this year. Why are more people not reading and talking about this book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really good. I loved Kate. she as a strong personality throughout the whole book. Kate finds out that her father is alive and that she get thrown into a world of politics. She learns more about her mother and the same time she learns more about her self.I really enjoyed reading this book. I do hope Jenn Marie Thorne writes more books.