The Year of No Returning

The Year of No Returning

by Ezra Furman


View All Available Formats & Editions

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


The Year of No Returning

After moving from Minty Fresh to Red Parlor, 2011's Mysterious Power showed a less rollicking side of Ezra Furman & the Harpoons, and for his first solo outing, The Year of No Returning, the frontman of the indie rock group relies on intimate, guitar-based songs. Comparisons to Dylan have followed the songwriter from the beginning, and here, with simple, folky arrangements (and guest musicians adding backing tracks by way of percussion, piano, upright bass, or strings), Furman's poignant lyrics are more prominent than ever. The Harpoons added a fun-spirited, chaotic element to his tunes, but even in this straightforward style, without the purposefully amateurish aesthetic, Furman's thoughtful songwriting style remains refreshingly distinctive. Besides the fact that the music is softer and more focused on this outing, the most notable change is in Furman's demeanor, which has moved from childlike spunk to desperation. Songs like "Cruel Cruel World," "Are You Gonna Break My Heart?," "Doomed Love Affair," and "Down" (which starts on the note, "What the fuck do I do all day laying in bed?") are as downtrodden as they sound. When the subject matter moves from introspection outward, to focus on his surroundings, the results are even more fear-filled, as Furman dissects American society's big business attitudes and inherent lack of spirituality, with lines like "So if you ever find that church that fits in your purse, put it into your cold metal shopping cart/and keep on wandering the aisles on the sick fluorescent tiles, we'll be miles and miles apart/I've got my own search and I'm still just at the start." Often embarking with a lyrical wisdom beyond his years, it's no surprise that he would hit his mid-life crisis early. With such a resounding sadness, it's doubtful that this will be the album to pull in new listeners, but it's certainly his most mature record, and packs a hell of an emotional punch.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2013
Label: Bar/None Records
UPC: 0032862022128
catalogNumber: 20221

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ezra Furman   Primary Artist,Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Drums,Hammond Organ,Vocals,Toy Xylophone
Susan Voelz   Violin
Larry Beers   Drums
Dan Polonsky   Upright Bass
Andrew Langer   Electric Guitar
Melissa Bach   Cello
Dan Garfinkel   Baritone Saxophone
Adam Abrutyn   Drums
Job Mukkada   Bass,Vocals
Tim Sandusky   Clarinet,Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Noise
Ben Joseph   Piano
Jamie Gallagher   Percussion,Drums
Mitch Marlow   Hammond Organ

Technical Credits

Doug Boehm   Producer
Ezra Furman   Composer,Liner Notes
Tim Sandusky   Engineer
Rosemarie Wagner   Cover Photo
Abe Bingham   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews