The Year of the Cicadas

The Year of the Cicadas

by Catie Hartsfield
The Year of the Cicadas

The Year of the Cicadas

by Catie Hartsfield


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 28
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The inspirational true story of a family, told by Catie, her son Bryant falls from a 180 foot cliff in the isolated back woods of the Gorge, forcing his younger brother, a friend and a lost boy-scout troop to rescue him.

Suffering from a traumatic brain injury, they are given very little hope Bryant will wake up, walk again or live a productive life. Bryant's unbelievable will is awe-inspiring.

Keeping a constant vigil over their son, Catie and her husband Steve, communicate through journals which provide an up close and personal perspective as the journey unfolds day by day.

Depleted by her career and distant from her husband, Catie had been praying for change, but this is not the change she had been praying for. She wonders how she can hold her damaged family, faith and rocky marriage together. The stress of the accident changes her views about herself, family, God and her marriage. This is a story of hope and change; proof that when faced with insurmountable challenges, the only way out is through.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780988456709
Publisher: Crooked Tree Publishing LLC
Publication date: 01/09/2013
Pages: 386
Sales rank: 563,050
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Catie loves being a wife, mother and grandmother. She is an avid gardener and makes delicious cookies. She divides her time between home and visiting her grandchildren. You can learn more about Catie by visiting her web site: or on Facebook at the Year of the Cicadas.

Table of Contents

Dedications and Heart Felt Thanks i

Foreword iii

Section 1 The Accident

Chapter 1 The Phone Call 3

Chapter 2 The Drive 14

Chapter 3 The Trauma Center 17

Chapter 4 Elizabeth 37

Chapter 5 James Returns 43

Chapter 6 The Camping Trip 49

Chapter 7 James' Own Words; The Rescue 55

Section 2 Miracles

Chapter 8 The Neurological ICU 73

Chapter 9 The Blessings 77

Chapter 10 Survival Mode 87

Chapter 11 Fighting for Life 95

Chapter 12 The Wakening 101

Chapter 13 The Other Side 107

Chapter 14 Self-Prophecy and a Red-eyed Wolf 113

Chapter 15 Facing the Unknown 119

Chapter 16 Family is a Relative Term 123

Chapter 17 Different Types of Fathers 129

Chapter 18 Early Morning Rush 135

Chapter 19 The Ambulance Ride 141

Section 3 Recovery

Chapter 20 The Rehab Center 147

Chapter 21 Comfort 157

Chapter 22 Re-booting 163

Chapter 23 Glimpses of the Future 173

Chapter 24 The Pit Bulls 179

Chapter 25 Something to Cling To 183

Chapter 26 Hurts and Wrongs 191

Chapter 27 Celebrations 197

Chapter 28 It's All Messed Up; It's Just Not Right 205

Chapter 29 Fatigue 215

Chapter 30 The Clash of Wills 221

Chapter 31 The Crooked Tree 233

Chapter 32 The Escape Artist 241

Chapter 33 Circling the Wagons 247

Chapter 34 Moving Forward 257

Chapter 35 Houdini Returns 261

Chapter 36 Three-Day Leave 271

Chapter 37 A Shave and a Haircut 275

Chapter 38 Snap Out Of It 281

Chapter 39 Making the Grade 287

Section 4 New Beginnings

Chapter 40 Facing your Fears 295

Chapter 41 Against All Odds 299

Chapter 42 Weathering the Onslaught 307

Chapter 43 New Growth 313

Chapter 44 Driving 321

Chapter 45 Good-byes 329

Chapter 46 Testing 335

Chapter 47 Conquering the Cliff 343

Chapter 48 What About Us 349

Chapter 49 The Cleansing 355

Chapter 50 Bryants' Story 361

Chapter 51 Coming Out of the Darkness 363

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews