The Zapatistas' Dignified Rage: Final Public Speeches of Subcommander Marcos

The Zapatistas' Dignified Rage: Final Public Speeches of Subcommander Marcos


$17.96 $19.95 Save 10% Current price is $17.96, Original price is $19.95. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, March 21

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781849352925
Publisher: AK Press
Publication date: 02/06/2018
Pages: 280
Sales rank: 773,682
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Nick Henck: Nick Henck is Associate Professor at Keio University (Tokyo) and the author of the only English-language biography of Mexican guerrilla spokesperson Subcommander Marcos, Subcommander Marcos: The Man and the Mask , Duke Univ. Press, 2007.
Subcomandante Insurgente Marcos: Subcomandante Marcos was the leading spokesperson for the Zapatista Army of National Liberation (EZLN) until 2014 when he declared himself to "no longer to exist." He now goes by Subcomandante Galeano.
Henry Gales: Henry Gales is a freelance translator living in Mexico City.

Table of Contents


Translator’s Foreword

1. Neither the Center nor the Periphery (December 2007)

  • Part I.- Above, Thinking White
  • Part II.- Listening to Yellow
  • Part III.- Touching Green
  • Part IV.- Tasting Brown
  • Part V.- Smelling Black
  • Part VI.- Seeing Blue
  • Part VII.- Feeling Red

    2. Subcommander Marcos’s Words for the National and International Caravan for Observation and Solidarity with Zapatista Communities (August 2008)

    3. Seven Winds in the Calendars and Geographies of Below (January 2009)

  • First Wind: A Dignified, Enraged Youth
  • Second Wind: A Dignified and Enraged Endeavour
  • Third Wind: A Dignified and Enraged Earthen Brown
  • Fourth Wind: An Organized Dignified Rage
  • Fifth Wind: A Dignified and Feminine Rage
  • Sixth Wind: An Other Dignified Rage.
  • Seventh Wind: Some Dignified and Enraged Deceased
  • On Plantings and Harvests

    4. Between Light and Shade (May 2014)

    5.Appendix: Communiqués

  • Rewind 3 (November 2013)
  • Rewind 2 (December 2013)
  • Rewind 1 (December 2013)
  • Pain and Rage (May 2014)

    Further Reading

  • Customer Reviews

    Most Helpful Customer Reviews

    See All Customer Reviews